Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Beethoven - Complete works for solo piano, Vol.4

Catalogue numberBIS-1473 SACD
Release date2006-12-30
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time73:38

Music Web International: Record of the Year 2007; Classics Today France: 10/10.

Ronald Brautigam's ongoing cycle on the fortepiano of Beethoven's piano music has been an ear-opening experience for many a listener, as testified by the glowing reviews. The first volume (BIS-SACD-1362) raised the expectations of the critic in Fanfare for 'a Beethoven piano-sonata cycle that challenges the very notion of playing this music on modern instruments, a stylistic paradigm shift'. The reviewer on website called Volume 2 (BIS-CD-1363) 'absolutely extraordinary' and stated that 'if this high artistic level is maintained, this Beethoven cycle is set to become an interpretative milestone. Only a select few are able to arrive at such a perfect mix of youthful fire and technical mastery.' And the recently released third instalment, (BIS-SACD-1472) has fulfilled the promise of the previous discs: 'Beethoven the revolutionary comes closer than ever in Brautigam's fiery interpretations', wrote The Times (UK) and the critic on the website MusicWeb International stated that 'these are once more thoroughly exciting, utterly musical performances that make you hear this music afresh.'

With this the fourth volume - which features one of the best loved of all of Beethoven's works, the ‘Moonlight Sonata’ - Ronald Brautigam reaches the year 1800. While still only thirty years of age, Beethoven is firmly established as a composer, pianist and teacher to the highest echelons of Viennese society. But far from contenting himself, he is forever looking forwards and these sonatas take us a great step towards the Romantic era. The Sonata Op. 26 is especially famous for its third movement, the Funeral March, which was played at Beethoven's own funeral. Sonata No. 13 is, like the Moonlight Sonata, subtitled 'quasi una fantasia', and a fascinating development of the genre. The 'Pastorale', finally, exposes another side of the composer - from 1800 onwards Beethoven spent most summers in the countryside and this sonata reflects the quiet country life he enjoyed so much.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.22
Extra material for download
  Composer: Beethoven, Ludwig van
  Sonata No.12 in A flat major, Op.26 18:16
01 I. Andante con variazioni 07:18 $ 1.53 USD
02 II. Scherzo. Allegro molto 02:41 $ 0.56 USD
03 III. Marcia funebre sulla morte d’un Eroe 05:52 $ 1.23 USD
04 IV. Allegro 02:25 $ 0.51 USD
  Sonata No.13 in E flat major, Op.27 No.1 14:53
05 I. Andante – Allegro (attacca) 05:00 $ 1.05 USD
06 II. Allegro molto e vivace (attacca) 01:53 $ 0.40 USD
07 III. Adagio con espressione (attacca) 02:46 $ 0.58 USD
08 IV. Allegro vivace – Presto 05:14 $ 1.10 USD
  Sonata No.14 in C sharp minor, Op.27 No.2 ‘Mondschein’ 14:31
09 I. Adagio sostenuto (attacca) 05:49 $ 1.22 USD
10 II. Allegretto 02:04 $ 0.43 USD
11 III. Presto agitato 06:38 $ 1.39 USD
  Sonata No.15 in D major, Op.28 ‘Pastorale’ 24:48
12 I. Allegro 10:22 $ 2.18 USD
13 II. Andante 07:12 $ 1.51 USD
14 III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace 02:24 $ 0.50 USD
15 IV. Rondo. Allegro ma non troppo 04:50 $ 1.02 USD
  Album total 73:38
ComposerBeethoven, Ludwig van
FortepianoBrautigam, Ronald

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News