Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Beethoven - Complete works for solo piano, Vol.6

Catalogue numberBIS-1573 SACD
Release date2008-07-10
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time73:04

Classics Today 10/10; Music Web International: outstanding; Gramophone: outstanding.

Ronald Brautigam’s performance on the previous volume in this series was described in the International Record Review as ‘remarkably full-blooded and forceful playing, pushing the instrument to its limits yet always securing a rich and well-rounded tone’. With the present disc, consisting of sonatas from Beethoven’s middle period, Brautigam continues his survey of Beethoven’s piano music on a new instrument, a copy of a Graf 1819 fortepiano, which corresponds to the greater demands in terms of power and dynamics made by works such as the Waldstein and the Appassionata. Beethoven’s middle period began shortly after a personal crisis brought on by the composer’s encroaching deafness, and during it he began to push the borders between free expression and strict form to an even greater extent than previously. In their glowing reviews of previous volumes, many critics have commented precisely on Ronald Brautigam’s ability to bring out the radical aspects of the works. According to the reviewer in The Times, ‘Beethoven the revolutionary comes closer than ever in Brautigam’s fiery interpretations’, and his colleague in Süddeutsche Zeitung agreed: ‘One has almost the impression of being a contemporary of Beethoven’s: one of the first, infinitely startled – not to say shocked – witnesses to this music.’
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 14.98
Extra material for download
  Composer: Beethoven, Ludwig van
  Sonata No.21 in C major, ‘Waldstein’, Op.53 22:38
01 I. Allegro con brio 09:59 $ 2.10 USD
02 II. Introduzione. Adagio molto (attacca subito il Rondo) 03:29 $ 0.73 USD
03 III. Rondo. Allegretto moderato – Prestissimo 09:10 $ 1.93 USD
  Sonata No.22 in F major, Op.54 09:36
04 I. In Tempo d’un Menuetto 04:52 $ 1.02 USD
05 II. Allegretto – Più Allegro 04:44 $ 0.99 USD
  Sonata No.23 in F minor, ‘Appassionata’, Op.57 20:49
06 I. Allegro assai 08:20 $ 1.75 USD
07 II. Andante con moto (attacca lAllegro) 05:13 $ 1.10 USD
08 III. Allegro ma non troppo – Presto 07:16 $ 1.53 USD
  Sonata No.24 in F sharp major, Op.78 09:37
09 I. Adagio cantabile – Allegro ma non troppo 07:00 $ 1.47 USD
10 II. Allegro vivace 02:37 $ 0.55 USD
  Sonata No.25 (Sonatine) in G major, Op.79 08:41
11 I. Presto alla tedesca 04:35 $ 0.96 USD
12 II. Andante 02:08 $ 0.45 USD
13 Vivace 01:58 $ 0.41 USD
  Album total 73:04
PianoBrautigam, Ronald
ComposerBeethoven, Ludwig van

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News