Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Vasks - Distant Light and other works

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2352 SACD
Release date2020-05-01
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time84:36

Having spent much of his childhood in Latvia, where he also began his violin studies, Vadim Gluzman makes a return to his roots with this disc of music by Pēteris Vasks. The ample programme (+ 84 minutes!) opens with the violin concerto ‘Distant Light’, which in the two decades since it was composed has become a modern classic. The composer has described it as ‘a song, coming from silence and floating away into silence, full of idealism and love, at times melancholy, at times dramatic.’

For the concerto, Gluzman found support from the strings of the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra under Hannu Lintu, just across the Baltic See from Latvia. For the other works on the disc he is however joined by Latvian colleagues and friends. These include the violinist Sandis Šteinbergs who appears in the duo Summer Dances, one of Vasks’ more carefree and buoyant pieces. This recent work in seven brief movements is, in the composer’s own words, the musical equivalent of a naïvist painting. In comparison, the Piano Quartet from 2001 is one of his longest and most imposing chamber works. Beginning with a perfect fifth in the piano, it takes the listener on an emotional roller-coaster, through hectic dances and dramatic songs to a typical ‘Vasks ending’ with a distant light offering a tempered hope. In the quartet, Vadim Gluzman leads an ensemble consisting of Ilze Klava, Reinis Birznieks, and Angela Yoffe.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 20.28
Extra material for download
  Composer: Vasks, Peteris (Pēteris)
  Concerto for violin and string orchestra ‘Distant Light’
(’Tālā gaisma’)
01 Andante 06:45 $ 1.64 USD
02 Cadenza I 01:49 $ 0.44 USD
03 Cantabile 03:57 $ 0.95 USD
04 Mosso 01:42 $ 0.41 USD
05 Cadenza II 02:24 $ 0.58 USD
06 Cantabile 04:26 $ 1.06 USD
07 Cadenza III 04:01 $ 0.96 USD
08 Andante 08:04 $ 2.00 USD
  Summer Dances (Vasaras dejas), for two violins 11:47
09 I. Broadly, sonorously 01:38 $ 0.40 USD
10 II. Underscoring the character 01:21 $ 0.32 USD
11 III. Unhurriedly 01:29 $ 0.36 USD
12 IV. Energetically 01:08 $ 0.28 USD
13 V. Sadly 02:12 $ 0.54 USD
14 VI. Joyfully 02:07 $ 0.52 USD
15 VII. Broadly, sonorously 01:52 $ 0.51 USD
  Quartet for Violin, Viola, Cello and Piano 38:13
16 I. Preludio 03:19 $ 0.80 USD
17 II. Danze 05:41 $ 1.36 USD
18 III. Canti drammatici 07:27 $ 1.79 USD
19 IV. Quasi una passacaglia 07:39 $ 1.84 USD
20 V. Canto principale 10:32 $ 2.53 USD
21 VI. Postludio 03:35 $ 0.98 USD
  Album total 84:36
ViolinGluzman, Vadim
Šteinbergs, Sandis
ConductorLintu, Hannu
ComposerVasks, Peteris (Pēteris)
OrchestraFinnish Radio Symphony Orchestra
ViolaKlava, Ilze
CelloBirznieks, Reinis
PianoYoffe, Angela

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News