Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Grieg - The Complete Songs Vol.6

Catalogue numberBIS-1657 CD
Release date2007-09-10
Total time62:49

Grieg dedicated his Nine Songs, Op.18, to his wife Nina, but she actually exerted – as Grieg himself admitted – a great influence on his entire song production. Asked why the art song occupied him so much Grieg once said: ‘Quite simply because, like other mortals, once in my life (to quote Goethe) I had a flash of genius … I fell in love with a young girl with a miraculous voice and an equally miraculous execution. This girl became my wife and has remained my companion in life to the present day. For me she has become – and I dare to say this – the only true interpreter of my songs.’ For a modern day audience, the art of Nina Grieg is sadly not possible to sample – but that of Monica Groop is. On five previous volumes she has given proof of her versatility and her ability to bring Grieg’s songs to life, whether settings of poems in German or in Norwegian, and whether typical examples of the continental Lied or the kind of adaptations of Norwegian folk music that Grieg excelled at. This has also been recognised by the reviewers, for instance in Gramophone, whose critic wrote of Volume 5: ‘Groop knows precisely how far to take her vocal characterization of the many forlorn lovers – and the even more numerous dramatic turns in the weather – and does a nice line in male seducers. Vignoles’ bright, direct and alert playing feels totally idiomatic.’ The preceding volume received similarly high praise in BBC Music Magazine: ‘The distinctive artistry of the Finnish mezzo-soprano is providing an irresistible new take, thrilling to both the shadows and the bright high-latitude light in this music.’ On the present disc, all lyrics are either in Norwegian or Danish (by, among others, H. C. Andersen) and many of them deal with the eternal subject of love. Others are results of the burgeoning national spirit that filled the not yet independent Norway during Grieg’s lifetime, and to which he contributed so much.
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 8.93
Extra material for download
  Composer: Grieg, Edvard
  Norge. Digte af John Paulsen, Op.58 13:25
01 I. Hjemkomst (Homeward) 03:19 $ 0.50 USD
02 II. Til Norge (To the Motherland) 01:14 $ 0.19 USD
03 III. Henrik Wergeland 03:35 $ 0.54 USD
04 IV. Turisten (The Sheperdess) 01:51 $ 0.28 USD
05 V. Udvandreren (The Emigrant) 03:26 $ 0.52 USD
  Romancer og Sange (Nine Songs), Op.18 20:35
06 I. Vandring i Skoven (Moonlit Forest) 01:50 $ 0.28 USD
07 II. Hun er saa hvid (My Darling is as White as Snow) 01:24 $ 0.21 USD
08 III. En Digters sidste Sang (The Poet’s Farewell) 02:12 $ 0.33 USD
09 IV. Efteraarsstormen (Autumn Storms) 03:26 $ 0.52 USD
10 V. Poesien (Poesy) 03:41 $ 0.55 USD
11 VI. Ungbirken (The Young Birch-Tree) 01:49 $ 0.27 USD
12 VII. Hytten (The Cottage) 01:23 $ 0.21 USD
13 VIII. Rosenknoppen (The Rosebud) 02:05 $ 0.31 USD
14 IX. Serenade til Welhaven (Serenade for Welhaven) 02:45 $ 0.41 USD
  Elegiske Digte af John Paulsen, Op.59 10:58
15 I. Når jeg vil dø (Autumn Farewell) 01:51 $ 0.28 USD
16 II. På Norges nøgne fjelde (The Pine Tree) 01:31 $ 0.23 USD
17 III. Til En I (To Her [I]) 02:04 $ 0.31 USD
18 IV. Til En II (To Her [II]) 01:43 $ 0.26 USD
19 V. Farvel (Goodbye) 01:56 $ 0.29 USD
20 VI. Nu hviler du i jorden (Your Eyes Are Closed Forever) 01:53 $ 0.28 USD
  Five Songs without opus number 14:33
21 Soldaten (The Soldier), EG125 02:08 $ 0.32 USD
22 Taaren (Tears), EG128 02:34 $ 0.39 USD
23 Vesle Gut (Little Lad), EG129 02:26 $ 0.37 USD
24 Fædrelandssang (National Song), EG151 03:58 $ 0.60 USD
25 Gentlemen-Menige (Gentlemen-Rankers), EG156 03:27 $ 0.52 USD
  Album total 62:49
ComposerGrieg, Edvard
Mezzo-sopranoGroop, Monica
PianoVignoles, Roger

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News