Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Grieg - The Complete Songs Vol.5

Catalogue numberBIS-1457 CD
Release date2006-01-28
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time69:02

BBC Music Magazine: outstanding; Music Web International: outstanding.

On this the fifth disc of Grieg’s songs, Monica Groop performs songs written between 1864-1889. The earliest of these, Four Romances (Op. 10), betray very little of the 21-year old composer’s growing interest in the music of his native country, an interest which was spurred by his meetings with the great violin virtuoso Ole Bull during this time. But with the three Peer Gynt Songs, and perhaps even more so with the following collaborations with the poet Holger Drachmann, the Norwegian tendencies become more obvious. The songs from Peer Gynt were the first individual pieces of the work to be published separately – long before the two orchestral suites were assembled.
The Op. 44 songs were the results of a walking tour of the Norwegian mountains made by Grieg and Drachmann in 1886, while the Op. 49 settings of Drachmann poems were completed some years later. While uneven in quality, this collection contains a couple of Grieg’s finest songs, such as Tell Me Now, Did You See the Lad (No. 1), and Kind Greetings, Fair Ladies (No. 3).
Monica Groop has shown a deep sympathy for this repertoire, as recognised by the BBC Music Magazine’s critic at the release of the previous volume: ‘The distinctive artistry of the Finnish mezzo-soprano is providing an irresistible new take, thrilling to both the shadows and the bright high-latitude light in this music.’ As on that disc, Roger Vignoles is Groop's congenial partner in these often less than familiar scores.

Some press voices:

"Think fireside warmth and convivial gatherings and you'll be close to the spirit of these songs, exquisitely delivered by Monica Groop and Roger Vignoles" Classical fm 02/2006

“Groop and Vignoles are masters of what they have chosen to survey. … Groop knows precisely how far to take her vocal characterization of the many forlorn lovers – and the even more numerous dramatic turns in the weather – and does a nice line in male seducers. Vignoles’ bright, direct and alert playing feels totally idiomatic. Sound and balance are ideal…” Gramophone 06/2006
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.28
Extra material for download
  Composer: Grieg, Edvard
  Four Romances, Op.10 (Texts: Christian Winther) 13:01
01 I. Taksigelse 03:38 $ 0.80 USD
02 II. Skovsang 03:50 $ 0.85 USD
03 III. Blomsterne tale 01:22 $ 0.30 USD
04 IV. Sang på Fjeldet 04:11 $ 0.92 USD
  Three Songs from Peer Gynt, Op.23 (Texts: Henrik Ibsen) 12:11
05 I. Peer Gynts Serenade 03:20 $ 0.74 USD
06 II. Solveigs Sang 04:31 $ 1.00 USD
07 III. Solveigs Vuggevise 04:20 $ 0.96 USD
  Reminiscences from Mountain and Fjord, Op.44 (Texts: Holger Drachmann) 15:27
08 I. Prolog 03:15 $ 0.72 USD
09 II. Johanne 02:36 $ 0.57 USD
10 III. Ragnhild 02:10 $ 0.48 USD
11 IV. Ingebjörg 02:30 $ 0.55 USD
12 V. Ragna 01:54 $ 0.42 USD
13 VI. Epilog 03:02 $ 0.67 USD
  Six Poems, Op.49 (Texts: Holger Drachmann) 25:41
14 I. Saa du Knösen, som strög forbi 04:15 $ 0.94 USD
15 II. Vug, o Vove 06:30 $ 1.44 USD
16 III. Vaer hilset, I Damer 03:59 $ 0.88 USD
17 IV. Nu er Aftnen lys og lang 02:46 $ 0.61 USD
18 V. Julesne 04:41 $ 1.04 USD
19 VI. Forårsregn 03:30 $ 0.77 USD
20 A Simple Song, Op.147 (Text: Holger Drachmann) 02:49 $ 0.62 USD
  Album total 69:02
ComposerGrieg, Edvard
Mezzo-sopranoGroop, Monica
PianoVignoles, Roger

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News