Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Grieg - The Complete Songs Vol.7

Catalogue numberBIS-1757 CD
Release date2008-02-12
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time68:38

With this disc, Monica Groop brings a heroic enterprise to a close. Including the present programme she has recorded all 172 of Grieg’s songs, including ones that were never published during the composer’s lifetime, and, in some cases, only recently discovered. With song texts in Norwegian, Danish, German, English and Latin they constitute an entire universe: from love songs and laments to patriotic appeals, descriptions of nature, humorous ditties and lullabies. Throughout the series, reviewers have praised Monica Groop’s genius for adapting her art to the subject matter at hand, as exemplified by the following quote from Fanfare regarding volume 5: ‘Monica Groop is a singer with the ability to colour her voice to suit the text and mood of a song, and with real dramatic and poetic insight.’ From volume 4 onwards she has enjoyed the congenial support of Roger Vignoles at the piano.

On the present disc, the two perform Grieg’s last song cycles, Op. 69 and Op. 70, both to texts by the Danish poet Otto Benzon. Also included is a version for voice and piano of the harrowing Den Bergtekne (‘The Mountain Thrall’) Op. 32, the retelling of a folk tale about a young man who gets lost in the forest and is bewitched by the daughter of the Troll. The remainder of the programme is made up of twelve songs without opus number, including an earlier version of The Tryst from the famous Haugtussa collection, Op. 67.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.74
Extra material for download
  Composer: Grieg, Edvard
01 Prinsessen (The Princess), EG133 02:55 $ 0.61 USD
02 Claras Sang (Clara’s Song), EG124 01:25 $ 0.30 USD
03 Osterlied (Easter Song), EG146 01:54 $ 0.40 USD
04 Morgenbøn paa Skolen (Morning Prayer at School), EG139 00:59 $ 0.21 USD
05 Den blonde Pige (The Fair-haired Maid) [first version],
04:15 $ 0.89 USD
06 Den Bergtekne (The Mountain Thrall), Op.32 04:18 $ 0.90 USD
07 Møte (The Tryst) [first version of Op.67 No.4] 02:40 $ 0.56 USD
08 Suk (Sighs), EG134 02:53 $ 0.61 USD
09 Den blonde Pige (The Fair-haired Maid) [second version],
02:48 $ 0.59 USD
  Fem Digte af Otto Benzon (Five Songs by Otto Benzon), Op.69 15:33
10 I. Der gynger en Båd på Bølge (A Boat on the Waves is
02:46 $ 0.58 USD
11 II. Til min Dreng (To My Son) 03:29 $ 0.73 USD
12 III. Ved Moders Grav (At Mother’s Grave) 02:34 $ 0.54 USD
13 IV. Snegl, Snegl! (Snail, Snail!) 03:12 $ 0.67 USD
14 V. Drømme (Dreams) 03:32 $ 0.74 USD
  Fem Digte af Otto Benzon (Five Songs by Otto Benzon), Op.70 13:25
15 I. Eros 02:55 $ 0.61 USD
16 II. Jeg lever et Liv i Længsel (A Life of Longing) 02:36 $ 0.55 USD
17 III. Lys Nat (Summer Night) 01:55 $ 0.40 USD
18 IV. Se dig for (Walk with Care) 01:53 $ 0.40 USD
19 V. Digtervise (A Poet’s Song) 04:06 $ 0.86 USD
20 Ragnhild, EG181 02:03 $ 0.43 USD
21 Den syngende Menighed (The Singing Congregation), EG122 01:53 $ 0.40 USD
  Valgsang (Election Song), EG149 08:24
22 Valgsang (Election Song), EG149 06:40 $ 1.40 USD
23 To a Devil, EG154 01:44 $ 0.36 USD
  Album total 68:38
PianoVignoles, Roger
Mezzo-sopranoGroop, Monica
ComposerGrieg, Edvard

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News