Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Spain - guitar music

In June of 1922, a cultural fiesta took place on the grounds of Granada’s Alhambra palace, organized by Manuel de Falla and Federico García Lorca. The aim of the event was to preserve the ‘purity’ of flamenco art and the opening performance was given by 29-year-old guitarist Andrés Segovia. Ironically, Segovia played de Falla’s Hommage to Claude Debussy (featured on this album - a work which can hardly be described as pure flamenco. But this can be seen as symptomatic of an important trait in the music of 20th-century Spain: Certain composers defended what they believed to be a noble, gallant and Castilian ideal, while others embarked on an quest to restore the ‘lost purity’ of the peasantry, but embracing Modernism and Impressionism as stylistic tools in order to do so.

This is demonstrated on Franz Halász’s new album, which provides a context – Milán’s Pavanes from the 16th century, Fernando Sor’s ‘Malbroug’ Variations from 1827 – while juxtaposing later works that embody the described, conflicting attitudes. This makes for a colourful and varied programme, taking in highlights in the guitar literature such as Tárrega’s Recuerdos de la Alhambra as well as Joaquín Turina’s Guitar Sonata, here recorded – for the first time – from a copy of Turina’s original manuscript, and not Segovia’s published version with numerous changes. The winner of a Latin Grammy, Franz Halász is a highly acclaimed guitarist who here also makes his own contribution to the repertoire of his instrument, with his own arrangements of de Falla and Isaac Albéniz.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 19.62
Extra material for download
  Composer: Sainz de la Maza, Regino
01 Rondeña  03:58 $ 0.97 USD
02 Meditación  02:36 $ 0.63 USD
03 Soleá  03:24 $ 0.84 USD
  Composer: Granados, Enrique
04 La maja de Goya 03:58 $ 0.97 USD
  Composer: Milán, Luis de
  6 Pavanas 13:57
05 Pavana del quinto y sexto tono 02:18 $ 0.57 USD
06 Pavana del tercero y quarto tono 03:22 $ 0.82 USD
07 Pavana del primero y segundo tono 02:05 $ 0.52 USD
08 Pavana del septimo y octavo tono 02:03 $ 0.51 USD
09 Pavana del octavo tono 'Qua la bella francesquina' 02:11 $ 0.54 USD
10 Pavana del octavo tono 01:58 $ 0.50 USD
  Composer: Sor, Fernando
11 Introduction and Variations on ‘Malbroug’, Op.28 05:52 $ 1.44 USD
  Composer: Falla, Manual de
12 Homenaje (pour le tombeau de Claude Debussy) 03:07 $ 0.77 USD
13 Danza del molinero (arr. F. Halász) 02:45 $ 0.70 USD
  Composer: Torroba, Federico Moreno
14 Torija 02:31 $ 0.63 USD
  Composer: Tárrega, Francisco
15 Lágrima  01:51 $ 0.46 USD
16 Recuerdos de la Alhambra  05:38 $ 1.38 USD
  Composer: Albéniz, Isaac
17 Granada (Serenade), from Suite española, Op. 47 (arr. F.
04:53 $ 1.20 USD
18 Capricho catalán, from España, Op.165 (arr. F. Halász) 04:13 $ 1.02 USD
19 Cádiz (Canción), from Suite española, Op.47 (arr. F.
04:49 $ 1.19 USD
  Composer: Turina, Joaquín
20 Sevillana (Fantasía), Op.29 05:19 $ 1.31 USD
  Composer: Turina, Joaquín
  Guitar Sonata, Op.61 10:27
21 I. Lento - Allegro 03:42 $ 0.90 USD
22 II. Andante 03:49 $ 0.92 USD
23 III. Allegro vivo 02:56 $ 0.82 USD
  Album total 81:58
ComposerAlbéniz, Isaac
Falla, Manual de
Granados, Enrique
Milán, Luis de
Sainz de la Maza, Regino
Sor, Fernando
Torroba, Federico Moreno
Turina, Joaquín
Tárrega, Francisco
GuitarHalász, Franz

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News