Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Reger - Music for viola

Catalogue numberBIS-1211 CD
Release date2003-08-31
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time63:38

Classics Today 10/10; Diapason d'Or de l'année.

Max Reger is much better known as a "famous composer" than for his music as such. This disc provides a new approach to a great composer by focusing on his writing for the viola. Though the chamber-music repertoire for the viola is limited, there is an illustrious roster of composers who have given it serious attention. One thinks immediately of Brahms and Shostakovich who turned to the instrument at the very ends of their lives, of Hindemith who brought to his composing all the insights into the instrument that he had acquired as one of the great performers on the viola, and of Mozart who "doubled" the instrument to such effect in his immortal string quintets. Reger, who had a remarkably open attitude to music – detesting, as he put it himself, all forms of musical prejudice – had a special affection for Bach's music and, in his own lifetime he was already known as the "second Bach". The three Suites for Solo Viola recorded here make no secret of their composer's debt to the great master of counterpoint. When he wrote the suites for solo viola, Max Reger had already made a serious contribution to the viola repertoire with music in a very different style in the form of an extended sonata for viola and piano. Nobuko Imai, who has done so much for the viola on BIS, is joined in the sonata performance by Ronald Brautigam who is well known to BIS fans for his fortepiano recordings of Mozart and Haydn as well as for his Mendelssohn. This disc fills an important repertoire gap with performances of commitment and notable artistic authority.

Some press voices:

"Nobuko Imai impose une sonorité royale, une justesse absolue et une conduite de la ligne mélodique d'une parfaite élégance ... un disque d'une exigeante et rare beauté." Diapason January 2004

"Gorgeous sonics, first-class musicianship, and substantial compositions that deserve wider recognition: these are ingredients that add up to an unqualified "must-have" recommendation."

"Ein interpretatorisches Niveau, das vom ersten bis zum letzten Takt massstäblich zu nennen ist." Fono Forum February 2004
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 12.85
Extra material for download
  Composer: Reger, Max
01 Romance for Viola and Piano (1901), Andante con moto 01:15 $ 0.26 USD
  Three Suites for Solo Viola, Op.131d (1914/15). Suite No.1 in G minor 11:43
02 I. Molto sostenuto 04:15 $ 0.89 USD
03 II. Vivace - Andantino - Vivace 03:03 $ 0.64 USD
04 III. Andante sostenuto 03:21 $ 0.70 USD
05 IV. Molto vivace 01:04 $ 0.22 USD
  Three Suites for Solo Viola, Op.131d (1914/15). Suite No.2 in D major 09:24
06 I. Con moto (non troppo vivace) 02:07 $ 0.44 USD
07 II. Andante 03:35 $ 0.75 USD
08 III. Allegretto - Quasi meno mosso - Allegretto 01:33 $ 0.33 USD
09 IV. Vivace 02:09 $ 0.45 USD
  Three Suites for Solo Viola, Op.131d (1914/15). Suite No.3 in E minor 08:55
10 I. Moderato 03:00 $ 0.63 USD
11 II. Vivace 01:45 $ 0.37 USD
12 III. Adagio 02:51 $ 0.60 USD
13 IV. Allegro vivace 01:19 $ 0.28 USD
  Sonata in B flat major for Viola and Piano, Op.107 (1908/09) 29:53
14 I. Moderato 11:34 $ 2.43 USD
15 II. Vivace - Andante - Adagio - Vivace - Quasi adagio 05:48 $ 1.22 USD
16 III. Adagio 05:35 $ 1.17 USD
17 IV. Allegretto con grazia - Adagio - Più adagio 06:56 $ 1.46 USD
  Album total 63:38
ViolaImai, Nobuko
PianoBrautigam, Ronald
ComposerReger, Max

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News