Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Mahler - Orchestral Songs

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1600 SACD
Release date2011-05-28
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time64:11

Music Web International: Recording of the Month June 2011; Classical Music Sentinel: "The CD ends with one of the most touching and sublime moments in music, the Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen (I Am Lost to the World) from the Rückert-Lieder. If Katarina's interpretation, along with the apt orchestral support by the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra and the heartfelt direction of conductor Susanna Mälkki don't captivate your mind or break your heart, take your medication and call your doctor".

As a composer, Gustav Mahler was absorbed by song and symphony as complementary genres deeply involved with each other. So deeply involved, in fact, that the dividing line between the two is often blurred – most famously so in Das Lied von der Erde from 1909, which is variously described both as a cycle of orchestral songs and as a symphony. But already in 1888, in his first symphony, Mahler included two themes from the song cycle Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen, which he had recently composed to his own poems. At the time this cycle only existed in a version for voice and piano; possibly it was the experience of orchestrating these themes in his symphony that a few years later inspired Mahler to create the version for voice and orchestra. If the Lieder… is a fairly early example of Mahler’s particular gift for merging text and voice with the symphonic medium, the two other cycles on this disc represent him at his zenith, around the time of his Fifth Symphony. All of the songs in Kindertotenlieder and Rückert-Lieder are settings of poems by the poet Friedrich Rückert, composed between 1901 and 1904. For Kindertotenlieder (Songs of the death of children) Mahler chose five of more than four hundred poems written by Rückert in reaction to the death of his two children: poems of despair, disbelief and resignation. Only four years after the completion of the cycle, Mahler’s own daughter died, aged four. While Kindertotenlieder was conceived as a cycle, the Rückert-Lieder are more loosely connected with each other. They were originally composed for voice and piano, and the orchestral versions were published only after Mahler’s death. Nevertheless they include some of the most sublime Mahlerian moments, for instance in Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen. Besides having a highly successful opera career, Katarina Karnéus is a regular guest with prestigious orchestras, and her appearances in works by Mahler have been particularly praised, for instance in The Guardian in regards to a performance of Symphony No.2: ‘Urlicht, heart-stoppingly sung by Katarina Karnéus, became the spiritual centre of the piece’. She is here supported by the acclaimed Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra conducted by the sought-after Finnish conductor Susanna Mälkki.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 12.90
Extra material for download
  Composer: Mahler, Gustav
  Kindertotenlieder 25:51
01 1. Nun will die Sonn’ so hell aufgehn 06:12 $ 1.30 USD
02 2. Nun seh’ ich wohl, warum so dunkle Flammen 05:08 $ 1.08 USD
03 3. Wenn Dein Mütterlein 05:39 $ 1.19 USD
04 4. Oft denk’ ich, sie sind nur ausgegangen! 02:46 $ 0.58 USD
05 5. In diesem Wetter! 06:06 $ 1.28 USD
  Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen 16:09
06 1. Wenn mein Schatz Hochzeit macht 03:54 $ 0.82 USD
07 2. Ging heut’ morgen über’s Feld 04:13 $ 0.89 USD
08 3. Ich hab’ ein glühend Messer 02:58 $ 0.62 USD
09 4. Die zwei blauen Augen 05:04 $ 1.06 USD
  Rückert-Lieder 19:25
10 Blicke mir nicht in die Lieder! 01:14 $ 0.26 USD
11 Ich atmet’ einen linden Duft 02:22 $ 0.50 USD
12 Liebst du um Schönheit (orchestrated by Max Puttmann) 02:09 $ 0.45 USD
13 Um Mitternacht 06:38 $ 1.39 USD
14 Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen 07:02 $ 1.48 USD
  Album total 64:11
Mezzo-sopranoKarnéus, Katarina
OrchestraGothenburg Symphony Orchestra (Göteborgs Symfoniker)
ConductorMalkki (Mälkki), Susanna
ComposerMahler, Gustav

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News