Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Vivaldi - The 4 Seasons

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1605 SACD
Release date2006-08-30
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time65:40

Klassik Heute 10/10/10.

Dan Laurin has made a name for himself as an intrepid musician who never hesitates to venture into uncharted territory, as testified by his numerous recordings of contemporary recorder works, as well as by his monumental achievement in recording the complete (10 hours!) 17th century Der Fluyten Lust-hof by Jacob van Eyck. As he now turns to one of the most recorded works in Western music, his approach is as fresh and original as ever. With the aid of the highly praised Polish ensemble Arte dei Suonatori, Laurin gives us Vivaldi’s humming insects, pounding summer rain and drunken village revels in a way we’ve never before heard them. The sweltering heat of summer and the excitement of the hunt – in which the recorder takes the part of the hunted animal – are almost tangible in a recording of unusual directness, whether experienced in the Surround or stereo versions. Laurin and Arte dei Suonatori have met before on disc, with electrifying result, performing works by Telemann (BIS-CD-1185) in a manner that one critic found almost dangerously addictive. Here the team reunites in a programme in which The Seasons is complemented by three other Vivaldi concertos, including the recorder concerto above all others: Concerto in C minor, RV 441. A previous recording of this work by Dan Laurin was hailed by the critic in Fono Forum with the following words: ‘Laurin’s tremendous technique transcends the perceived limitations of the recorder, and lets the music speak much more eloquently than we have been accustomed to’ – a description which is as relevant to the present disc.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.45
Extra material for download
  Composer: Vivaldi, Antonio
  La Primavera (Spring) 09:35
01 I. Allegro 03:16 $ 0.69 USD
02 II. Largo 02:42 $ 0.57 USD
03 III. Allegro 03:37 $ 0.76 USD
  L’Estate (Summer) 10:49
04 I. Allegro non molto 05:35 $ 1.17 USD
05 II. Adagio – Presto 02:27 $ 0.51 USD
06 III. Presto 02:47 $ 0.58 USD
  L’Autunno (Autumn) 10:12
07 I. Allegro 05:02 $ 1.06 USD
08 II. Adagio molto 02:13 $ 0.47 USD
09 III. Allegro 02:57 $ 0.62 USD
  L’Inverno (Winter) 08:40
10 I. Allegro non molto 03:13 $ 0.68 USD
11 II. Largo 02:09 $ 0.45 USD
12 III. Allegro 03:18 $ 0.69 USD
  Concerto in D major for strings, RV124 06:20
13 I. Allegro 02:18 $ 0.48 USD
14 II. Grave 02:07 $ 0.44 USD
15 III. Allegro 01:55 $ 0.40 USD
  Concerto in G major for recorder and strings, RV437 08:12
16 I. Allegro 03:46 $ 0.79 USD
17 II. Largo 01:57 $ 0.41 USD
18 III. Allegro 02:29 $ 0.52 USD
  Concerto in C minor for recorder and strings, RV 441 10:14
19 I. Allegro non molto 04:36 $ 0.97 USD
20 II. Largo 02:25 $ 0.51 USD
21 III. Allegro 03:13 $ 0.68 USD
  Album total 65:40
OrchestraArte dei Suonatori
ComposerVivaldi, Antonio
RecorderLaurin, Dan

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News