Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Lidström & Shostakovich - works for cello and orchestra

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2289 SACD
Release date2018-04-10
Orig. sample rate96000 Hz
Total time60:02

Vladimir Ashkenazy and Mats Lidström began their collaboration in London in the 1980s, during Ashkenazy’s tenure at the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra where Lidström was principal cellist. They have since appeared together in concert as well as on disc, including a recording of concertos by Kabalevsky and Khachaturian on BIS. They are here reunited, in front of the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra, in a performance of what has become a true modern classic: Dmitri Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1. The concerto was composed in 1959, during the so-called Khruschev Thaw, but even though Soviet censorship and repression had relaxed somewhat following the death of Stalin, the approval from the mighty Composer’s Union was still needed before any public performances could take place. When the concerto was performed before the Union’s committee, Vladimir Ashkenazy – then in his early twenties – was present and has recounted how nervous and uncomfortable Shostakovich appeared while observing the reactions of the committee.
The disc opens with Mats Lidström’s own Rigoletto Fantasy, based on Verdi’s opera. Inspired by virtuosic violin pieces such Sarasate’s Carmen Fantasy, and with professional experience from the orchestra pit of the Royal Swedish Opera, Lidström has selected a string of highlights from Rigoletto, including of course the Duke’s La donna è mobile and Gilda’s Caro nome, joining them together in a virtuosic, dramatic and moving narrative.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 14.38
Extra material for download
  Composer: Lidström, Mats
  Rigoletto Fantasy for cello and orchestra 29:56
01 Bar 1 Introduction and the Duke’s aria – Questa o quella 02:33 $ 0.62 USD
02 Bar 127 Caro nome che il mio cor (Gilda) 03:37 $ 0.86 USD
03 Bar 188 Tutte le feste al tempio (Gilda) 02:06 $ 0.50 USD
04 Bar 222 Figlia! Mio padre! (duet) 01:19 $ 0.32 USD
05 Bar 275 Scorrendo uniti remota via (terzetto and chorus) 03:39 $ 0.88 USD
06 Bar 357 La donna è mobile (The Duke) 02:18 $ 0.55 USD
07 Bar 435 Venendo, mi vede alcuno? (Rigoletto) 03:38 $ 0.87 USD
08 Bar 554 Cortigiani vil razza, dannata (Rigoletto) 02:32 $ 0.61 USD
09 Bar 591 Miei signori, perdono, pietate (Rigoletto) 04:31 $ 1.08 USD
10 Bar 657 Solo, difforme, povero (Rigoletto) 02:23 $ 0.57 USD
11 Bar 697 O tu che la festa audace hai turbato (The Duke) 01:20 $ 0.38 USD
  Composer: Shostakovich, Dmitri
  Concerto No. 1 for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 107 29:02
12 I. Allegretto 06:30 $ 1.58 USD
13 II. Moderato 12:02 $ 2.90 USD
14 III. Cadenza 05:28 $ 1.31 USD
15 IV. Allegro con moto 05:02 $ 1.34 USD
  Album total 60:02
ComposerLidström, Mats
Shostakovich, Dmitri
OrchestraOxford Philharmonic Orchestra
ConductorAshkenazy, Vladimir
CelloLidström, Mats

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News