Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Debussy – Piano Music, Volume 5

Catalogue numberBIS-1405 CD
Release date2011-05-30
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time75:08

Klassik Heute 10/10/10.

On the strength of the highly praised earlier volumes in this cycle, Noriko Ogawa has been described as ‘a Debussy interpreter of exceptional class’ (International Record Review) while her interpretations of the composer’s sets of Images and of Études have been singled out as belonging to the finest in the discography in magazines such as BBC Music Magazine and Classica-Répertoire. Her cycle has also been commended for its completeness, including rarities such as the piano reduction of La Boîte à joujoux and the version for one piano of Six Épigraphes antiques. On this the fifth and final disc, Noriko Ogawa again offers us scintillating performances of works both well-known and less often heard. The two Arabesques were among Debussy’s most popular works already during his lifetime, with hundreds of thousand of copies sold before his death. Another ‘hit’ was Rêverie, which Debussy himself wanted to suppress, but which at one stage even ended up as No. 1 on the US Billboard chart, in a swing arrangement. Less familiar are some of the youthful works, for instance Danse bohémienne, Debussy’s first piano piece composed at the age of 18. But the two main works on the disc are indisputably the suites Pour le Piano and Suite Bergamasque, which Debussy completed in his maturity, during the first years of the 20th century. Suite Bergamasque takes as its point of departure the commedia dell’arte tradition which so fascinated Debussy, but it is also a token – alongside Pour le Piano – of his great love and respect for the masters of the Baroque, both the French clavécinistes and J.S.Bach.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.40
Extra material for download
  Composer: Debussy, Claude
01 1ère Arabesque, L74/1 05:00 $ 1.05 USD
02 2ème Arabesque, L74/2 03:56 $ 0.83 USD
03 Danse (Tarentelle styrienne), L77 05:09 $ 1.08 USD
04 Ballade (slave) pour le piano, L78 07:26 $ 1.56 USD
05 Valse romantique, L79 03:22 $ 0.71 USD
06 Rêverie, L76 05:02 $ 1.06 USD
  Suite Bergamasque, L82 17:48
07 I. Prélude. Moderato (tempo rubato) 03:47 $ 0.79 USD
08 II. Menuet. Andantino 04:47 $ 1.00 USD
09 III. Clair de lune. Andante très expressif 05:04 $ 1.06 USD
10 IV. Passepied. Allegretto ma non troppo 04:10 $ 0.88 USD
11 Mazurka, L75 02:55 $ 0.61 USD
12 Nocturne, L89 06:21 $ 1.33 USD
13 Danse bohémienne, L4 02:08 $ 0.45 USD
  Pour le Piano, L95 14:14
14 I. Prélude. Assez animé et très rythmé 04:12 $ 0.88 USD
15 II. Sarabande. Avec une élégance grave et lente 05:56 $ 1.25 USD
16 III. Toccata. Vif 04:06 $ 0.86 USD
  Album total 75:08
ComposerDebussy, Claude
PianoOgawa, Noriko

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News