Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Paper Moon - Songs by Hadjidakis For Guitar

Catalogue numberBIS-2636 SACD
Release date2023-01-06
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time73:09

24 FLAC Discount

Regarded as one of the greatest Greek composers and a legend in his native land, Manos Hadjidakis is also one of the best-known internationally thanks to a body of works that touches many musical genres, from concert music to popular songs and scores for the stage and screen. Hadjidakis and his music has been present in the life of Elena Papandreou from an early age, but the idea for Paper Moon, her latest recital, began with her friendship with the French guitarist, composer and arranger Roland Dyens. Sharing Papandreou’s admiration for Hadjidakis, Dyens arranged a couple of his songs, and dedicated them to her. The two agreed to collaborate on a complete disc of Hadjidakis songs, a project that was suspended when Dyens passed away in 2016. But his former student, the guitarist, composer and arranger Orestis Kalampalikis agreed to continue in Dyens’ footsteps, and arranged a further ten songs, including the one that has given its title to the entire album.
Arranging a song for an instrument naturally means that the lyrics are lost, and in the disc’s liner notes Kalampalikis describes how he endeavoured to create versions inspired by the meaning of the lyrics - sometimes by Hadjidakis himself and often dealing with love, longing and loneliness. Closing the disc, Preludio de la Nostalgia was composed in 2020 by the legendary Cuban composer Leo Brouwer. Written for and dedicated to Elena Papandreou, it was inspired by another song by Hadjidakis, Nanourisma (Lullaby) and can be seen as a homage from a fellow composer.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 17.54
Extra material for download
  Composer: Hadjidakis, Manos
01 Paper Moon 04:31 $ 1.14 USD
02 The Urchins down in the Meadow 06:25 $ 1.57 USD
03 Hymettus 04:09 $ 1.02 USD
04 The Postman is Dead 04:39 $ 1.14 USD
05 Noble Dame 04:18 $ 1.06 USD
06 In this Boat 04:02 $ 0.99 USD
07 A Stroll to the Moon 06:16 $ 1.53 USD
08 The Coachman 09:31 $ 2.32 USD
09 I Have a Secret 03:48 $ 0.94 USD
10 Little Rallou 07:01 $ 1.72 USD
11 Wide Open Sea 05:57 $ 1.46 USD
12 Sweet Smell of Jasmine 04:47 $ 1.17 USD
  Composer: Brouwer, Leo
13 Preludio de la Nostalgia 05:43 $ 1.50 USD
  Album total 73:09
ComposerBrouwer, Leo
Hadjidakis, Manos
GuitarPapandreou, Elena
ArrangerDyens, Roland
Kalampalikis, Orestis

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News