Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Mendelssohn - Works for Cello and Piano

Catalogue numberBIS-2187 SACD
Release date2017-09-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time60:26

It is well known that Felix Mendelssohn’s sister Fanny was a highly talented musician, but fewer are familiar with the fact that there were two other musical siblings in the Mendelssohn family: Rebecka, a gifted singer, and Paul, a very competent amateur cellist. It is to Paul, a banker by profession, that we owe the existence of much of Felix’s music for the instrument, which in spite of Beethoven’s endeavours hadn’t yet become firmly established as a duo partner of the piano.

Fitting comfortably on a single disc, Mendelssohn’s works for cello and piano are here presented by Christian Poltéra and Ronald Brautigam, who open with the Variations concertantes in D major, composed in 1829. Brautigam has recently released the composer’s Lieder ohne Worte, performing them on a copy of a piano by Pleyel from 1830, and plays the same instrument on the present disc. Meanwhile, Poltéra has chosen to equip his 1711 Stradivarius cello with gut strings, and together the two musicians and their instruments create a sound which is both flexible, transparent and vigorous – ideal for Mendelssohn’s scores. The two substantial sonatas, composed in 1838 and 1843, are separated on the disc by a brief ‘Albumblatt’ and a Romance sans paroles in D major, the only ‘song without words’ that Mendelssohn wrote for two instruments rather than piano solo.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 7.24
Extra material for download
  Composer: Mendelssohn (-Bartholdy), Felix
  Variations concertantes in D major, Op.17, MWVQ19 08:32
01 Tema. Andante con moto 01:04 $ 0.13 USD
02 Variation 1 00:29 $ 0.06 USD
03 Variation 2 00:29 $ 0.06 USD
04 Variation 3. Più vivace 00:29 $ 0.06 USD
05 Variation 4. Allegro con fuoco 00:37 $ 0.07 USD
06 Variation 5. L’istesso tempo 00:41 $ 0.08 USD
07 Variation 6. L’istesso tempo 00:28 $ 0.06 USD
08 Variation 7. Presto ed agitato 01:22 $ 0.16 USD
09 Variation 8. Tempo primo - Coda. Più animato 02:53 $ 0.36 USD
  Sonata No.1 in B flat major, Op.45, MWVQ27 22:24
10 I. Allegro vivace 11:28 $ 1.38 USD
11 II. Andante 05:02 $ 0.60 USD
12 III. Allegro assai 05:54 $ 0.73 USD
  Romance sans paroles in D major, Op.109, MWVQ34
13 Andante 03:54 $ 0.47 USD
  Assai tranquillo (Albumblatt) in B minor, MWVQ25
14 Assai tranquillo 01:54 $ 0.23 USD
  Sonata No.2 in D major, Op.58, MWVQ32 22:43
15 I. Allegro assai vivace 07:11 $ 0.86 USD
16 II. Allegretto scherzando 04:55 $ 0.59 USD
17 III. Adagio 04:15 $ 0.51 USD
18 IV. Molto Allegro e vivace 06:22 $ 0.82 USD
  Album total 60:26
ComposerMendelssohn (-Bartholdy), Felix
CelloPoltéra, Christian
PianoBrautigam, Ronald

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News