Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

C.P.E. Bach: Solo Keyboard Music, Vol.14

Catalogue numberBIS-1329 CD
Release date2005-12-29
Total time65:21

Nearing the mid-point of this series of C.P.E. Bach’s music for solo keyboard, Miklós Spányi has put together a varied programme comprising three sonatas, interspersed with three pairs of dances, all of them written between 1756-1766. The dances – which were published individually and have been paired together by Spányi himself – are minuets and polonaises, the two genres that C.P.E. Bach wrote most of. Some are simple pieces intended for keyboard players of any degree of accomplishment; others call for performers who are advanced, both technically and in their understanding of the subtleties and refinements of Bach’s melodies. In this context it is interesting to note that all of the dances on this disc were published during Bach’s lifetime, whereas the three sonatas remained unpublished, indicating the growing interest from amateurs for music to play. Bach’s catalogue of works includes more than 150 keyboard sonatas. Always intent on developing the form, around the time that the present three sonatas were composed, Bach began to explore a method of unifying the three-movement sonata. This consisted of writing movements, usually middle movements, that were intended to proceed without closure to the movements that followed, a technique which is exemplified on the present disc. For this programme, Spányi has chosen a copy of one of the finest examples of the Saxonian school of clavichord building, an instrument built in 1785 by Gottfried Joseph Horn near Dresden. The same instrument was used on Volume 10 of this series, a disc which was greeted with much enthusiasm by the reviewers, for instance in Int. Record Review (‘Spányi is probably the best clavichordist currently recording. I certainly haven't heard better playing on disc.’) and the British Clavichord Society (‘This CD is a striking achievement.’)

Some press voices:

"Le programme aidant, ce colume 14 apparaît comme l'un des plus vivants de l'intégrale Spanyi." Le Monde de la Musique 03/2006

"The pieces work well on the clavichord, and Miklos Spanyi's ability to make the music sparkle and sing lends additional allure" Sunday Times 02/2006
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 4.76
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Carl Philipp Emanuel
01 Menuet I & II in C major, W.116/15 (H.159) 02:34 $ 0.19 USD
02 Alla polacca in C major, W.116/4 (H.215) 02:20 $ 0.18 USD
  Sonata in A major, W.65/37 (H.174) 15:51
03 I. Allegro 07:04 $ 0.53 USD
04 II. Andante ma non troppo 03:38 $ 0.27 USD
05 III. Allegro di molto 05:09 $ 0.39 USD
06 Menuet I & II in D major, W.116/3 (H.214) 03:26 $ 0.26 USD
07 Alla polacca in D major, W.116/6 (H.217) 03:45 $ 0.28 USD
  Sonata in E minor, W.65/39 (H.176) 13:21
08 I. Presto 02:26 $ 0.18 USD
09 II. Largo con tenerezza 06:05 $ 0.46 USD
10 III. Allegretto 04:50 $ 0.36 USD
11 Menuet I & II in E flat major, W.116/1 (H.171) 02:50 $ 0.21 USD
12 Polonoise in E flat major, W.116/2 (H.172) 01:54 $ 0.14 USD
  Sonata in B flat major, W.65/38 (H.175) 17:25
13 I. Allegro do molto 07:16 $ 0.55 USD
14 II. Largo e mesto 04:36 $ 0.35 USD
15 III. Allegro 05:33 $ 0.42 USD
  Album total 65:21
ComposerBach, Carl Philipp Emanuel
ClavichordSpányi, Miklós

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News