Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Beethoven Piano Sonatas Op.110 & Op.111

Catalogue numberBIS-2208 SACD
Release date2019-01-20
Orig. sample rate96000 Hz
Total time62:53

Choc de Classica; 10+10+10 Klassik-heute Empfehlung; Choix de France Musique

Yevgeny Sudbin has previously recorded Beethoven’s piano concertos – releases which have received international acclaim, for instance on the website ‘A Beethoven experience you will not want to miss.’ For his first disc featuring solo works by Beethoven, Sudbin has chosen the two final sonatas and the Six Bagatelles, Op. 126 – late works written between 1821 and 1824, just a couple of years before the composer’s death. There are numerous anecdotes that testify to the fact that Beethoven was highly temperamental. But in his liner notes to this disc, Sudbin writes of another, contrasting side to the composer: ‘warmth, generosity and wisdom – with unexpected outbursts of cheeky humour – are also unmistakably among Beethoven’s qualities and particularly evident in the works on this recording’.

If Beethoven’s 32 piano sonatas form one of the most important collections of works in the history of music, then the final ones belong to his crowning achievements. Various musicians and musicologists have commented on them, hearing a hard-won triumph of the spirit in the great fugue of the final movement of Op. 110, and interpreting Op. 111 – and especially its second movement, the famous Arietta – as a last farewell. The set of Bagatelles was composed only months after Beethoven had completed his monumental Ninth Symphony. It became the last work for piano to be published in his lifetime, and together the six brief pieces form a distillate of a lifetime of writing for and playing the piano.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.08
Extra material for download
  Composer: Beethoven, Ludwig van
  Sonata No.31 in A flat major, Op. 110 17:27
01 Moderato cantabile molto espressivo 06:08 $ 1.48 USD
02 Allegro molto 02:05 $ 0.50 USD
03 Adagio ma non troppo 09:14 $ 2.26 USD
  Sonata No. 32 in C Minor, Op. 111 27:00
04 Maestoso – Allegro con brio ed appassionato 09:12 $ 2.22 USD
05 Arietta. Adagio molto semplice e cantabile 17:48 $ 4.33 USD
  Six Bagatelles, Op. 126 17:15
06 Andante con moto 02:44 $ 0.66 USD
07 Allegro 02:28 $ 0.60 USD
08 Andante 02:30 $ 0.61 USD
09 Presto 03:44 $ 0.91 USD
10 Quasi allegretto 01:56 $ 0.47 USD
11 Presto – Andante amabile e con moto 03:53 $ 1.05 USD
  Album total 62:53
ComposerBeethoven, Ludwig van
PianoSudbin, Yevgeny

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News