Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Musique chorale francaise de Claude Debussy, Olivier Messiaen, Maurice Ravel, André Jolivet, Ernest Chausson

International Record Review: outstanding.

Claude Debussy, Marice Ravel and André Jolivet each wrote one composition for unaccompanied chorus. Olivier Messiaen produced two. While his motet of 1937 „O Sacrum Convivium“ brings the mystifying static sound heard in his organ works of this period into the vocal medium, the major choral cycle „Cinq Rechants“ of 1948 is a composition with an esthetic entirely its own. Never before had anyone composed so radically for chorus: complex rhythms, large jumps between intervals, breathtaking tempos, and all of it as if passing, with the certainty and calmness of a sleepwalker, as Messiaen insisted.
The other path-braking cycle of French choral music, André Jolivet´s „Epithalame“, is similary fundamental in its conception. It was written only a few years later, in 1953, and its subtitle discloses its creator´s compositional experiment of using voices to achieve an orchestral effect.
By comparison, the two choral cycles by Debussy and Ravel remain within the bounds of the traditional. Both take the French Renaisance as the point of departure – all the while, however, remain well within the realm of modern times.
Ernest Chausson´s „Ballata“ is rather a misfit in this quartet of unique compositional success of twentieth century vocal music in that it is not considered to be as important as the others. Nonetheless, the very sound of this piece of occasional music written in the last years of life of the talented pupil of Jules Massenet and César Franck makes it a perfect fit.
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 9.15
  3 Chansons de Charles d'Orléans 06:34
01 Dieu! Qu´il l´a fait bon regarder! 02:26 $ 0.44 USD
02 Quant j´ay ouy le tabourin 02:06 $ 0.38 USD
03 Yver, vous n´estes qu´un villain 02:02 $ 0.37 USD
  Composer: Ravel, Maurice
  3 Chansons 05:54
04 Nicolette 01:48 $ 0.32 USD
05 Trois beaux oiseaux du paradis 02:21 $ 0.42 USD
06 Ronde 01:45 $ 0.32 USD
  Composer: Messiaen, Olivier
  5 Rechants 17:22
07 Hayo kapri tama 04:03 $ 0.73 USD
08 Ma première fois terre 02:58 $ 0.53 USD
09 Ma robe d´amour 04:12 $ 0.76 USD
10 Niokhamâ palalan(e) souki 02:27 $ 0.44 USD
11 Mayoma kalimolimo 03:42 $ 0.67 USD
  Composer: Jolivet, André
  Epithalame 17:35
12 Ouvrons les portes de l\'amour 07:28 $ 1.34 USD
13 Fille du souffle 07:05 $ 1.28 USD
14 Au son de sa lyre 03:02 $ 0.55 USD
  Composer: Chausson, Ernest
15 Ballata 03:24 $ 0.61 USD
  Album total 50:49
CompDebussy, Claude
ComposerChausson, Ernest
Debussy, Claude
Jolivet, André
Messiaen, Olivier
Ravel, Maurice

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News