Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Liszt – Works for Violin and Piano

Catalogue numberBIS-2085 SACD
Release date2015-05-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time60:02

Although Franz Liszt lived to be 75 years, and gave his last piano recital at the age of only 36, the predominant image of him is still that of the piano virtuoso, and to some extent the composer of virtuoso works for solo piano. With this recording of a selection of his music for violin and piano, Ulf Wallin and Roland Pöntinen aim at expanding our understanding of a composer who in fact wrote in a variety of genres, and whose style, especially in the later works, evolved in a manner that was far ahead of its time. This includes the abolition of harmonic functions, unresolved dissonances, whole-tone scales, sequences of tritones and cluster chords – features which his contemporaries found incomprehensible, but which we today can recognize as pioneering elements that prepared the way for composers such as Schoenberg and Bartók. Liszt composed his first music for violin and piano as early as 1832, and returned to this instrumental combination throughout his life, writing La lugubre gondola as late as 1882–83. Some of the pieces are reworkings of earlier compositions, for instance the Hungarian Rhapsody No.12, originally for piano solo but equally if not more passionate and dramatic in this version for violin and piano. In the early Grand Duo concertant pure virtuosity and the joy of playing are to the fore, but in the late works Liszt takes us on a journey into his own innermost soul, with all its doubts, contradictions and abysses.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 14.01
Extra material for download
  Composer: Liszt, Franz
  Grand Duo concertant, S128 (1835/49) 16:11
01 Lento assai – Animato quasi Allegro… 03:28 $ 0.83 USD
02 Bar 72 [Theme] 01:58 $ 0.47 USD
03 Var. I. Un poco piu animato 01:41 $ 0.40 USD
04 Var. II 02:02 $ 0.49 USD
05 Var. III. Allegretto pastorale 03:27 $ 0.83 USD
06 Var. IV. Tarantella 01:51 $ 0.44 USD
07 Finale. Animato marziale 01:44 $ 0.42 USD
08 Die Zelle in Nonnenwerth, S382bis (1883) 06:40 $ 1.60 USD
09 Epithalam, S129 (1872) 04:28 $ 1.07 USD
10 Rapsodie hongroise XII, S379a (c.1850) 12:11 $ 2.92 USD
11 Zweite Elegie, S131bis (1877–78) 04:46 $ 1.14 USD
12 Romance oubliée, S132 (c.1880) 04:17 $ 1.03 USD
13 La lugubre gondola, S134bis (1882-83) 09:49 $ 2.36 USD
  Album total 60:02
ComposerLiszt, Franz
PianoPontinen (Pöntinen), Roland
ViolinWallin, Ulf

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News