Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Schumann - The Violin Sonatas

Catalogue numberBIS-1784 SACD
Release date2011-12-10
Orig. sample rate88200Hz
Total time74:06

Music Web International March 2012: "With highly impressive playing, sound and presentation it is hard to find fault with this excellent release".

Robert Schumann's three Sonatas for violin and piano were all composed between 1851 and 1853. They – especially No.3 – have to some extent suffered from the same neglect and incomprehension that has been the fate of other works from this period in the composer's life, only a few years before he died in a mental institution. During the same years a number of other works for the violin saw the light, including the Violin Concerto and the Fantasy for violin and orchestra. The concertante works were written for the violinist Joseph Joachim, but it may have been a letter from Ferdinand David, concert master of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, that provided the initial impulse to compose chamber works for the violin: ‘I am uncommonly fond of your Fantasiestücke for piano and clarinet; why don’t you write something for violin and piano? … How splendid it would be if you could write something of that kind, that your wife and I could play for you.’ Here the performers are Ulf Wallin and Roland Pöntinen, a team who recorded their first disc for BIS in 1991, and whose partnership has been described as 'masterfully cultivated ensemble playing' on website Wallin's credentials in Schumann must also be regarded as firmly established, after his recently released recording of the violin concerto, the Fantasy and the arrangement for violin of the cello concerto. The reviewer in Daily Telegraph found it 'hard to imagine more sympathetic and insightful performances of these wonderful pieces’, and his colleague on the German website Klassik-Heute agreed, describing Wallin as 'violinistically brilliant and musically perceptive'
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 17.28
Extra material for download
  Composer: Schumann, Robert
  Sonata No.1 in A minor for violin and piano, Op.105 17:25
01 I. Mit leidenschaftlichem Ausdruck 08:18 $ 1.99 USD
02 II. Allegretto 03:58 $ 0.95 USD
03 III. Lebhaft 05:09 $ 1.24 USD
  Sonata No.2 in D minor for violin and piano, Große Sonate, Op.121 34:04
04 I. Ziemlich langsam. Lebhaft 14:16 $ 3.42 USD
05 II. Sehr lebhaft 04:33 $ 1.09 USD
06 III. Leise, einfach 05:59 $ 1.44 USD
07 IV. Bewegt 09:16 $ 2.22 USD
  Sonata No.3 in A minor for violin and piano, WoO2 20:32
08 I. Ziemlich langsam 07:29 $ 1.80 USD
09 II. Intermezzo. Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell 03:02 $ 0.73 USD
10 III. Lebhaft 03:28 $ 0.83 USD
11 IV. Finale. Markiertes, ziemlich lebhaftes Tempo 06:33 $ 1.57 USD
  Album total 74:06
ComposerSchumann, Robert
PianoPöntinen, Roland
ViolinWallin, Ulf

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News