Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Beethoven - Violin Sonatas, Vol.3

Catalogue numberBIS-2537 SACD
Release date2021-09-03
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time79:13

Previous instalments of the Beethoven sonata cycle from Frank Peter Zimmermann and Martin Helmchen have met with wide acclaim. Described as ‘conversations by a perfect instrumental pairing’ in BBC Music Magazine, the discs have received a Choc in Classica and the recommendation of German website, respectively. This the third and final volume brings together Beethoven's last three works in the genre, composed between 1801 and 1812. The centre-piece is the ninth sonata, the famed ‘Kreutzer Sonata’. The title page of the first edition described the sonata as ‘written in a highly concertante style’ and it does indeed surpass everything that had previously been written in the genre, in terms of scale as well as technical and compositional complexity.

It is preceded by the more lightweight Sonata No. 8 in G major, in which ideas and motifs chase each other until the end of the whirlwind finale. Also in G major, Beethoven’s tenth and final violin sonata closes the disc. It was composed almost ten years after the Kreutzer, and is certainly less spectacular. In no way is it a step backwards in artistic terms, however: exchanging drama and heroics with songful intimacy, it is rather one of the works through which Beethoven freed himself from the depression into which he had fallen after renouncing his ‘Immortal Beloved’.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 9.36
Extra material for download
  Composer: Beethoven, Ludwig van
  Violin Sonata No. 8 in G Major, Op. 30 No. 3 15:59
01 I. Allegro assai 05:49 $ 0.70 USD
02 II. Tempo di Minuetto, ma molto moderato e grazioso 06:48 $ 0.82 USD
03 III. Allegro vivace 03:22 $ 0.40 USD
  Violin Sonata No. 9 in A major, Op. 47 (Kreutzer Sonata) 36:02
04 I. Andante sostenuto - Presto 13:52 $ 1.66 USD
05 II. Allegro con variazioni 02:13 $ 0.27 USD
06 II. Variation I 02:02 $ 0.24 USD
07 II. Variation II 01:51 $ 0.22 USD
08 II. Variation III 02:21 $ 0.28 USD
09 II. Variation IV 05:04 $ 0.61 USD
10 III. Presto 08:39 $ 1.04 USD
  Violin Sonata No. 10 in G major, Op. 96 25:57
11 I. Allegro moderato 10:25 $ 1.25 USD
12 II. Adagio espressivo 05:25 $ 0.65 USD
13 III. Allegro 01:46 $ 0.21 USD
14 IV. Poco allegretto - Adagio espressivo - Tempo I - Allegro 08:21 $ 1.00 USD
  Album total 79:13
ComposerBeethoven, Ludwig van
ViolinZimmermann, Frank Peter
PianoHelmchen, Martin

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News