Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Schubert - Winterreise

Catalogue numberBIS-2410 SACD
Release date2021-11-05
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time71:45

When Franz Schubert in 1827 invited a friend to the first performance of his Winterreise, he called it ‘a cycle of horrifying songs’. The texts that he had chosen to set were by the poet Wilhelm Müller, whose 24 poems form a psychodrama which starts with regret over a lost love but develops into an inner voyage in which a nameless Wanderer probes for answers to existential questions. There is no plot, no events in the external world: instead, we spy on fleeting emotions and thoughts. In setting these poems to music Schubert was confronting his own probable fate: Winterreise was completed the year before his death in 1828, at the age of 31, and he will have known that the syphilis he had contracted in late 1822 often led to insanity and paralysis before release in death. With this in mind, one understands why Schubert himself said that the cycle had cost him ‘more effort than any of my other songs.’

Originally written for tenor voice, the songs are often heard transposed to other vocal ranges. Here the whole cycle is transposed a minor third down, to suit the baritone of James Rutherford. Primarily active as an opera singer – he is a Wagner specialist – Rutherford also enjoys a long-lasting partnership with pianist Eugene Asti. On BIS the two have previously released a recording of Schubert’s Schwanengesang – a disc which received top marks from the German website and was described as ‘one of the best recordings of these songs that I’ve heard’ by the reviewer in American Record Guide.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 17.18
Extra material for download
  Composer: Schubert, Franz
  Winterreise, D 911 69:35
01 Gute Nacht (Good Night) 05:41 $ 1.38 USD
02 Die Wetterfahne (The Weathervane) 01:42 $ 0.42 USD
03 Gefrorne Tränen (Frozen Tears) 02:22 $ 0.58 USD
04 Erstarrung (Numbness) 02:55 $ 0.71 USD
05 Der Lindenbaum (The Linden Tree) 04:40 $ 1.13 USD
06 Wasserflut (Flood) 03:50 $ 0.93 USD
07 Auf dem Flusse (On the River) 03:23 $ 0.82 USD
08 Rückblick (Backward Glance) 02:04 $ 0.51 USD
09 Irrlicht (Will-o'-the-wisp) 02:28 $ 0.61 USD
10 Rast (Rest) 03:26 $ 0.84 USD
11 Frühlingstraum (Dream of Spring) 03:49 $ 0.94 USD
12 Einsamkeit (Loneliness) 02:53 $ 0.71 USD
13 Die Post (The Post) 02:14 $ 0.56 USD
14 Der greise Kopf (The Grey Head) 02:41 $ 0.66 USD
15 Die Krähe (The Crow) 01:59 $ 0.49 USD
16 Letzte Hoffnung (Last Hope) 01:57 $ 0.49 USD
17 Im Dorfe (In the Village) 03:18 $ 0.82 USD
18 Der stürmische Morgen (The Stormy Morning) 00:51 $ 0.22 USD
19 Täuschung (Illusion) 01:13 $ 0.30 USD
20 Der Wegweiser (The Signpost) 04:09 $ 1.02 USD
21 Das Wirtshaus (The Inn) 04:20 $ 1.06 USD
22 Mut! (Courage!) 01:20 $ 0.33 USD
23 Die Nebensonnen (The Mock Suns) 02:54 $ 0.70 USD
24 Der Leiermann (The Hurdy-Gurdy Player) 03:26 $ 0.94 USD
  Album total 71:45
ComposerSchubert, Franz
BaritoneRutherford, James
PianoAsti, Eugene

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News