Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Haydn – The Seven Last Words

Catalogue numberBIS-2429 SACD
Release date2019-07-05
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time46:54

The Seven Last Words of Christ refers to the seven short phrases uttered by Jesus on the cross, as gathered from the New Testament. Over the centuries the crucifixion has served as inspiration to countless composers, and settings of these utterances have become something of a subgenre, beginning in the Renaissance with early motets and continuing into our own time. By way of César Franck and Sofia Gubaidulina, composers ranging from Heinrich Schütz to Tristan Murail have contributed versions using various combinations of voice and/or instruments.

One of the best known of these settings is probably the one by Joseph Haydn. The one – or rather the four: a rather complicated story begins in 1785, when Haydn received a commission from Cadíz in Spain, at the other end of Europe. He was asked to compose seven slow movements, each ca 10 minutes long, to be played by an orchestra in alternation with the priest expounding on each of the seven words. Relishing this unusual challenge, Haydn accepted and ended up so pleased with the result that he immediately made a version for string quartet as well as authorising another one for keyboard. The work became so popular across Europe that ten years later the music was used one final time, in an oratorio for choir and orchestra. The work is here heard in the version for keyboard, performed by the French pianist Nicolas Stavy. He closes the disc with another unusual work in Haydn’s oeuvre, the Andante con variazioni, Hob. XVII/6, which has been described as ‘the deepest and most profound set of variations for piano composed between Bach and Beethoven’.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.07
Extra material for download
  Composer: Haydn, Joseph
  The Seven Last Words of Christ on the Cross, Hob. XX/1C 46:25
01 L’Introduzione 05:12 $ 1.26 USD
02 Sonata I. Largo: Pater dimitte illis quia nesciunt quid
06:03 $ 1.46 USD
03 Sonata II. Grave e cantabile: Hodie mecum eris in Paradiso 05:49 $ 1.41 USD
04 Sonata III. Grave: Mulier ecce filius tuus 06:18 $ 1.53 USD
05 Sonata IV. Largo: Deus meus, Deus meus, utquid dereliquisti
04:57 $ 1.20 USD
06 Sonata V. Adagio: Sitio 05:25 $ 1.32 USD
07 Sonata VI. Lento: Consummatum est 05:57 $ 1.44 USD
08 Sonata VII. Largo: In manus tuas, Domine, commendo spiritum
05:03 $ 1.21 USD
09 Il Terremoto (The earthquake). Presto 01:41 $ 0.44 USD
  Andante con variazioni in F minor, Hob. XVII/6 15:19
10 Andante (Theme) 04:27 $ 1.07 USD
11 [Variation I] 03:28 $ 0.83 USD
12 [Variation II] 03:33 $ 0.85 USD
13 [Coda] 03:51 $ 1.04 USD
  Album total 46:54
ComposerHaydn, Joseph
PianoStavy, Nicolas

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News