Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Viñao - Arcanum

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1187 SACD
Release date2005-06-30
Orig. sample rate176400Hz
Total time60:33

Arcanum (Latin for a deep secret or mystery) is a work which takes the listener on a journey through the Bible, the Underworld, the Middle Ages and beyond in search of God, only to discover that divinity is in fact everywhere. Written in 1996, it was conceived in memory of a friend of Argentinian-born composer Ezequiel Viñao (b. 1960). The work, in two parts, is a meditation on the concept of time itself and the nature of knowledge. In it the composer examines the development of early thought, using material from philosophers and composers alike. The often very brief texts, from the Bible and the works of Parmenides, Virgil, Augustine and others, are set to music inspired by sources scattered over nine hundred years: from early mozarabic chant to late medieval and renaissance composers such as Machaut and Gesualdo, and including influences from Persian and Hindustani music.

Our guides on the Arcanum journey are the Absolute Ensemble and Kristjan Järvi, a team which has chosen to integrate, rather than segregate music. The group fuses its classical roots with everything from jazz and rock to world and hip hop, often working with eminent guests from various genres. For this work 11 Absolute members – playing the oboe, trombones, strings and percussion (including tabla-drums) – are joined by soprano Janet Youngdahl in creating unforgettable soundscapes.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 14.24
Extra material for download
  Composer: Viñao, Ezequiel
  Arcanum for voice and chamber ensemble (1996). Part One 25:21
01 Prologus: Virgil (Aeneid, Book VI, 268) 04:41 $ 1.12 USD
02 Exodus (III:14) 01:43 $ 0.41 USD
03 Parmenides (fragment 8.5) 02:49 $ 0.68 USD
04 Sequentia I 01:57 $ 0.47 USD
05 I Kings (VIII:27) 02:04 $ 0.50 USD
06 Plotinus (Ennead V.8.4) 02:09 $ 0.52 USD
07 Sequentia II 02:41 $ 0.64 USD
08 I Corinthians (XIII:12) 04:12 $ 1.01 USD
09 Parmenides (fragment 9.3) 03:05 $ 0.74 USD
  Arcanum for voice and chamber ensemble (1996). Part Two 33:58
10 Tractus I 04:41 $ 1.12 USD
11 Scotus Erigena (De Divisione Naturae, libri V) 02:44 $ 0.66 USD
12 Ecclesiastes (I:9) 04:49 $ 1.16 USD
13 Tractus II 03:55 $ 0.94 USD
14 Plutach (The E at Delphi, 18) 05:37 $ 1.35 USD
15 Apocalypsis (X:6) 01:03 $ 0.25 USD
16 Augustine (De Civitate Dei, XI) 04:18 $ 1.03 USD
17 Exodus (XXIV:10) 03:58 $ 0.95 USD
18 Epilogus: Angelus Silesius (Cherubinischer Wandersmann,
02:53 $ 0.69 USD
  Album total 60:33
ComposerViñao, Ezequiel
SopranoYoungdahl, Janet
Chamber ensembleAbsolute Ensemble
ConductorJärvi, Kristjan

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News