Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Rote Rosen — Songs by Richard Strauss

Catalogue numberBIS-1709 SACD
Release date2009-02-01
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time59:10

Richard Strauss, the great composer of symphonic poems and grand operas, wrote solo songs throughout his life: his first compositions, performed within his family circle, were songs and his setting of the poem Malven (Mallows) was to be the last piece he completed. Taking a keen interest in the possibilities and limitations of the human voice, Strauss in the solo song genre found the opportunity to try out various musical options and to discover his own individual style. But the writing of songs also served as a form of relaxation, a way of passing the time. The result is a varied spectrum of atmospheres, moods and emotions: from the jesting tone of Hat gesagt — bleibt’s nicht dabei to the heart-felt declaration of love in Cäcilie and the portrayal of madness of the Three Songs of Ophelia.

Camilla Tilling, whose successful opera career in a very short time has taken her to some of the world’s most prestigious venues — including Covent Garden, the Metropolitan, La Scala and La Monnaie — made her international breakthrough in the role of Sophie in Strauss’s Der Rosenkavalier. Ever since, Strauss’s music has held a special place for her, and on her first solo recording she has chosen to perform some of her favourites among his songs. She is partnered by the fine German pianist Paul Rivinius, with violinist Ulf Wallin making a guest appearance in Morgen!, where he plays the solo that Strauss added when making an orchestral version of the song.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 11.90
Extra material for download
  Composer: Strauss, Richard
01 Rote Rosen, AV76 02:14 $ 0.47 USD
02 Malven, AV304 02:58 $ 0.62 USD
03 Leises Lied, Op.39 No.1 03:05 $ 0.65 USD
04 Junghexenlied, Op.39 No.2 02:39 $ 0.56 USD
05 Cäcilie, Op.27 No.2 02:03 $ 0.43 USD
06 Befreit, Op.39 No.4 05:22 $ 1.13 USD
  Drei Lieder der Ophelia, Op.67 Nos 1–3 07:54
07 1. Wie erkenn ich mein Treulieb vor andern nun? 02:54 $ 0.61 USD
08 2. Guten Morgen, ’s ist Sankt Valentinstag 01:13 $ 0.26 USD
09 3. Sie trugen ihn auf der Bahre bloß 03:47 $ 0.79 USD
  Allerseelen, Op.10 No.8 05:15
10 Allerseelen, Op.10 No.8 03:05 $ 0.65 USD
11 Ich schwebe, Op.48 No.2 02:10 $ 0.46 USD
12 Muttertändelei, Op.43 No.2 02:28 $ 0.52 USD
13 Einerlei, Op.69 No.3 02:17 $ 0.48 USD
14 Schlechtes Wetter, Op.69 No.5 02:24 $ 0.50 USD
15 Das Rosenband, Op.36 No.1 02:54 $ 0.61 USD
16 Hat gesagt – bleibt’s nicht dabei, Op.36 No.3 02:21 $ 0.49 USD
17 All mein’ Gedanken, Op.21 No.1 01:12 $ 0.25 USD
18 Du meines Herzens Krönelein, Op.21 No.2 02:02 $ 0.43 USD
19 Meinem Kinde, Op.37 No.3 02:31 $ 0.53 USD
20 Mein Auge, Op.37 No.4 03:01 $ 0.63 USD
21 Morgen!, Op.27 No.4 04:00 $ 0.84 USD
  Album total 59:10
SopranoTilling, Camilla
PianoRivinius, Paul
ComposerStrauss, Richard

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News