Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Bach: Cantatas, Vol. 48

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1881 SACD
Release date2011-04-05
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time72:13

BBC Music Magazine: Choice of the Month July 2011.

Volume 48 of Masaaki Suzuki’s and Bach Collegium Japan’s traversal of Johann Sebastian Bach’s cantatas opens with Cantata 43, O ewiges Feuer, o Ursprung der Liebe – a jubilant work intended for Whit Sunday 1727, but with its origins in an earlier, secular wedding cantata. Its scoring, with three trumpets and timpani, returns in the closing work, Gott, man lobet dich in der Stille (BWV 120) composed for a festive church service marking the annual town council election in Leipzig. But the programme also also offers moments of introspection and quiet beauty, such as the celebrated alto aria Ich will dich all mein Leben lang from Cantata 117, here performed by the counter-tenor Robin Blaze, well-known to the followers of this series. Cantata 98 contains another heartfelt aria: Hört, ihr Augen, auf zu weinen, sung by the soprano Hana Blažíková, whose performances on recent releases have impressed many reviewers.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 14.86
Extra material for download
  Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
  O ewiges Feuer, o Ursprung der Liebe, BWV 34 16:09
01 O ewiges Feuer, o Ursprung der Liebe (Chorus) 07:02 $ 1.48 USD
02 Recitative: Herr, unsre Herzen halten dir (Tenor) 00:45 $ 0.16 USD
03 Aria: Wohl euch, ihr auserwählten Seelen (Alto) 05:34 $ 1.17 USD
04 Recitative: Erwahlt sich Gott die heilgen Hütten (Bass) 00:33 $ 0.12 USD
05 Friede über Israel (Chorus) 02:15 $ 0.47 USD
  Sei Lob und Ehr dem hochsten Gut, BWV 117 21:11
06 Sei Lob und Ehr dem höchsten Gut (Chorus) 03:55 $ 0.82 USD
07 Recitative: Es danken dir die Himmelsheer (Bass) 01:09 $ 0.24 USD
08 Aria: Was unser Gott geschaffen hat (Tenor) 02:45 $ 0.58 USD
09 Ich rief dem Herrn in meiner Not (Chorus) 00:54 $ 0.19 USD
10 Recitative: Der Herr ist noch und nimmer nicht (Alto) 01:20 $ 0.28 USD
11 Aria: Wenn Trost und Hülf ermangeln muss (Bass) 03:06 $ 0.65 USD
12 Aria: Ich will dich all mein Leben lang (Alto) 03:26 $ 0.72 USD
13 Recitative: Ihr, die ihr Christi Namen nennt (Tenor) 00:44 $ 0.15 USD
14 So kommet vor sein Angesicht (Chorus) 03:52 $ 0.81 USD
  Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan, BWV 98 13:22
15 Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan (Chorus) 03:50 $ 0.81 USD
16 Recitative: Ach Gott! wenn wirst du mich einmal (Tenor) 01:04 $ 0.22 USD
17 Aria: Hort, ihr Augen, auf zu weinen! (Soprano) 03:48 $ 0.80 USD
18 Recitative: Gott hat ein Herz, das des Erbarmens Überfluss
01:02 $ 0.22 USD
19 Aria: Meinen Jesum lass ich nicht (Bass) 03:38 $ 0.76 USD
  Gott, man lobet dich in der Stille, BWV 120 20:04
20 Aria: Gott, man lobet dich in der Stille (Alto) 05:24 $ 1.13 USD
21 Jauchzet, ihr erfreuten Stimmen (Chorus) 06:10 $ 1.30 USD
22 Recitative: Auf, du geliebte Lindenstadt (Bass) 01:15 $ 0.26 USD
23 Aria: Heil und Segen (Soprano) 05:24 $ 1.13 USD
24 Recitative: Nun, Herr, so weihe selbst (Tenor) 00:46 $ 0.16 USD
25 Chorale: Nun hilf uns, Herr, den Dienern dein (Chorus) 01:05 $ 0.23 USD
  Album total 72:13
Composer Bible - Old Testament
Johann Agricola
Johann Sebastian Bach
Martin Luther
Samuel Rodigast
ConductorMasaaki Suzuki
ChoirBach Collegium Japan Chorus
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
TenorSatoshi Mizukoshi
Counter-tenorRobin Blaze
BassPeter Kooij
SopranoHana Blazikova

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News