Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach – Cantatas Volume 47

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1861 SACD
Release date2010-10-10
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time68:27

The Bach Collegium Japan was founded by Masaaki Suzuki 20 years ago, in 1990, and the team's cycle of Bach's Cantatas was launched five years later, in November 1995. Now, 46 volumes and fifteen years later, the series has entered the final stretch but is still going as strong as ever. Reviews of recent volumes speak for themselves - 'With Suzuki you can hear Bach's heart beat...' the reviewer in International Record Review wrote in regards to Volume 40, while Volume 43 caused the critic in Fanfare to rhapsodize: 'a set for the ages, not only performed with consummate style, historical considerations, and musical substance, but with a feeling for these seminal religious works that transcends the merely mechanical presentation that we so often - too often - hear.' There is certainly nothing mechanical about the present performances, of three works which in emotional content range from the joyful vitality of the Advent cantata BWV36 to the meditations upon death and the leave-taking of this world which permeate BWV27. As always the opening choruses are of particular interest, for instance that of Cantata BWV47, a striking example of Bach's skills in illustrating a text in music but also a highly complex composition in which the interplay between choir and orchestra is beautifully balanced. The soloists also have their share of fine moments on this instalment. Hana Blazíková, dubbed 'an ideal Bach soprano' in International Record Review on account of her performance on the previous Cantata volume, performs the charming and playful aria 'Auch mit gedämpften, schwachen Stimmen' with solo violin, while Robin Blaze and Peter Kooij - both veterans of this series - each have received a true display piece in the form of the two arias of BWV27.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.96
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Schwingt freudig euch empor, BWV 36 27:51
01 Schwingt freudig euch empor (Chorus) 03:53 $ 0.82 USD
02 Chorale: Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland (Soprano, Alto) 03:26 $ 0.72 USD
03 Aria: Die Liebe zieht mit sanften Schritten (Tenor) 05:47 $ 1.21 USD
04 Chorale: Zwingt die Saiten in Cythara (Chorus) 01:09 $ 0.24 USD
05 Aria: Willkommen, werter Schatz! (Bass) 03:23 $ 0.71 USD
06 Chorale: Der du bist dem Vater gleich (Tenor) 01:36 $ 0.34 USD
07 Aria: Auch mit gedampften, schwachen Stimmen (Soprano) 08:01 $ 1.68 USD
08 Chorale: Lob sei Gott, dem Vater, ton (Chorus) 00:36 $ 0.13 USD
  Wer sich selbst erhohet, der soll erniedriget werden, BWV 47 20:17
09 Wer sich selbst erhohet (Chorus) 05:31 $ 1.16 USD
10 Aria: Wer ein wahrer Christ will heissen (Soprano) 08:29 $ 1.78 USD
11 Recitative: Der Mensch ist Kot, Stank, Asch und Erde (Bass) 01:44 $ 0.36 USD
12 Aria: Jesu, beuge doch mein Herze (Bass) 03:49 $ 0.80 USD
13 Chorale: Der zeitlichen Ehrn will ich gern entbehrn (Chorus)
00:44 $ 0.15 USD
  Wer weiss, wie nahe mir mein Ende!, BWV 27 14:27
14 Chorale and Recitative: Wer weiss, wie nahe mir mein Ende
(Soprano, Alto, Tenor)
04:27 $ 0.93 USD
15 Recitative: Mein Leben hat kein ander Ziel (Tenor) 00:55 $ 0.19 USD
16 Aria: Wilkommen! will ich sagen (Alto) (harpsichord
03:49 $ 0.80 USD
17 Recitative: Ach, wer doch schon im Himmel war! (Soprano) 00:46 $ 0.16 USD
18 Aria: Gute Nacht, du Weltgetummel! (Bass) 03:21 $ 0.70 USD
19 Chorale: Welt, ade! Ich bin dein mude (Chorus) 01:09 $ 0.24 USD
20 Wer weiss, wie nahe mir mein Ende!, BWV 27: Aria: Wilkommen!
will ich sagen (organ obligato)
03:53 $ 0.82 USD
  Album total 68:27
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
Choir & orchestraBach Collegium Japan
TenorMizukoshi, Satoshi
BassKooij, Peter
SopranoBlažíková, Hana
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News