Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Secular Cantatas, Volume 3

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2041 SACD
Release date2013-05-10
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time77:26

“This disc merits a solid recommendation.” Fanfare

Although two of the works on this disc were composed for weddings, they are completely different in character. Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten is a charming and gracious garland of recitatives and arias for soprano solo in which Spring, Flora, Apollo and Amor are all invoked in a blessing of the newly wedded couple and their union.

The Quodlibet (Latin for ‘what pleases’) on the other hand, is an altogether unceremonious composition which was probably intended for a private function in Bach’s own circle or family. All we have is a fragment of the work – in Bach’s own hand – and the beginning and ending of the piece, including the title page, are missing.

It is therefore not even certain that it is Bach’s own work, but may have been a collaboration between several of the wedding guests. Compositions of this kind belong to a tradition which combines quotations from songs, toasts, market traders’ calls, proverbs and puns, and were especially popular at weddings – where they frequently got out of hand!

The third disc in Bach Collegium Japan’s series of secular cantatas also includes a birthday cantata composed in the honour of Prince Leopold of Anhalt-Köthen, Bach’s employer during years 1717–23. Durchlauchtster Leopold (‘Most illustrious Leopold’) celebrates the ‘propitious day’ while extolling the ruler’s ‘excellent attributes’ and ‘princely renown’.

Two duets in minuet form lend the work the character of a courtly serenade, which didn’t stop Bach from reusing it, with a new text, as a church cantata a few years later. The name of the recipient of Schwingt freudig euch empor, another congratulatory cantata, is no longer known, but the text tells us that he was a teacher of high standing and of an advanced age.

Once again Bach, who must have been attached to the work, reused it as a church cantata, but also, with the new title Steigt freudig in die Luft, as a birthday tribute to Charlotte Friederike of Anhalt-Köthen, the wife of Prince Leopold.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 16.01
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Durchlauchtster Leopold, BWV173a (Serenata) 18:25
01 1. [Recitativo] (Soprano). Durchlauchtster Leopold… 00:40 $ 0.14 USD
02 2. Aria (Soprano). Güldner Sonnen frohe Stunden… 03:35 $ 0.75 USD
03 3. [Aria] (Basso). Leopolds Vortrefflichkeiten… 01:47 $ 0.37 USD
04 4. Aria (Soprano, Basso). Unter seinem Purpursaum… 03:45 $ 0.79 USD
05 5. Recitativo (Soprano, Basso). Durchlauchtigster, den
Anhalt Vater nennt…
01:14 $ 0.26 USD
06 6. Aria (Soprano). So schau dies holden Tages Licht… 03:19 $ 0.70 USD
07 7. Aria (Basso). Dein Name gleich der Sonnen geh… 02:04 $ 0.43 USD
08 8. Chorus (Soprano, Basso). Nimm auch, großer Fürst, uns
02:01 $ 0.42 USD
  Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten, BWV202 19:30
09 1. [Aria]. Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten… 06:03 $ 1.27 USD
10 2. [Recitativo]. Die Welt wird wieder neu… 00:28 $ 0.10 USD
11 3. Aria. Phoebus eilt mit schnellen Pferden… 03:05 $ 0.65 USD
12 4. Recitativo. Drum sucht auch Amor sein Vergnügen… 00:41 $ 0.14 USD
13 5. Aria. Wenn die Frühlingslüfte streichen… 02:45 $ 0.58 USD
14 6. Recitativo. Und dieses ist das Glücke… 00:42 $ 0.15 USD
15 7. Aria. Sich üben im Lieben… 03:56 $ 0.83 USD
16 8. Recitativo. So sei das Band der keuschen Liebe… 00:27 $ 0.09 USD
17 9. Gavotte. Sehet in Zufriedenheit… 01:23 $ 0.29 USD
  Schwingt freudig euch empor und dringt bis an die Sternen, BWV36c 27:32
18 1. [Chorus]. Schwingt freudig euch empor und dringt bis an
die Sternen…
04:02 $ 0.85 USD
19 2. Recitativo (Tenore). Ein Herz, in zärtlichem
00:58 $ 0.20 USD
20 3. Aria (Tenore). Die Liebe führt mit sanften Schritten… 05:49 $ 1.22 USD
21 4. Recitativo (Basso). Du bist es ja, o hochverdienter
00:48 $ 0.17 USD
22 5. Aria (Basso). Der Tag, der dich vordem gebar… 02:46 $ 0.58 USD
23 6. Recitativo (Soprano). Nur dieses Einz’ge sorgen wir… 00:38 $ 0.13 USD
24 7. Aria (Soprano). Auch mit gedämpften, schwachen
08:51 $ 1.86 USD
25 8. Recitativo (Tenore). Bei solchen freudenvollen Stunden… 00:22 $ 0.08 USD
26 9. Chorus [e Recitativo] (Soprano,Tenore, Basso). Wie die
Jahre sich verneuen…
03:18 $ 0.69 USD
  Quodlibet, BWV524 (Fragment)
27 Was seind das vor große Schlösser… 10:46 $ 2.26 USD
  Album total 77:26
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
SopranoLunn, Joanne
TenorSakurada, Makoto
BaritoneWilliams, Roderick

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News