Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.52

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1981 SACD
Release date2012-11-01
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time63:38

On the 52nd disc in his monumental undertaking of recording all the sacred cantatas by J.S. Bach, Masaaki Suzuki includes one of the best-loved cantatas of all, Wachet auf ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 140. With the famous chorale as the unifying element, Bach creates a majestic first movement which is followed by a couple of the most beautiful love duets in the history of music, between the Soul and Jesus, here interpreted by the soprano Hana Blažíková and Peter Kooij, bass.
Following BWV 140 on the disc is Der Herr ist mein getreuer Hirt (‘the Lord is my faithful shepherd’), in which an adaptation from 1531 of the famous Psalm 23 provides the text for all five movements. It is thus a late addition, composed in 1731, to the so-called chorale cantatas that Bach composed a number of in 1724-25.
The final cantata in this volume was composed for a church service celebrating the inauguration of a new city council, a ‘Ratswahl cantata’. For this unusually festive occasion Bach clearly wished to demonstrate to the Leipzig notables how sacred music was flourishing under his direction and to present himself as a composer. As a result, the opening sinfonia is a brilliant organ concerto movement, while the first chorus is a reworking of material which Bach would return to in the Dona nobis pacem of his Mass in B minor. The ending of the cantata is suitably splendid and festive, with trumpets and timpani joining in the praise ‘unto God the Father, Son and Holy Ghost’ expressed in the closing chorale.
As this recording project is nearing completion – three more volumes remain to be released – reviewers worldwide are commending it for its consistently high standards, with the German web site Klassik Heute remarking that Suzuki ‘not even towards the end of his marathon is showing any lack of freshness or breath – one can only wait impatiently for the final discs of this series’.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.06
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 140 25:59
01 1. Chorale. Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme… 06:51 $ 1.44 USD
02 2. Recitativo (Tenore). Er kommt, er kommt 01:03 $ 0.22 USD
03 3. Aria Duetto (Soprano, Basso). Wenn kömmst du, mein Heil? 05:57 $ 1.25 USD
04 4. Chorale (Tenore). Zion hört die Wächter singen 03:53 $ 0.82 USD
05 5. Recitativo (Basso). So geh herein zu mir 01:23 $ 0.29 USD
06 6. Aria Duetto (Soprano, Basso). Mein Freund ist mein 05:23 $ 1.13 USD
07 7. Choral. Gloria sei dir gesungen 01:29 $ 0.31 USD
  Der Herr ist mein getreuer Hirt, BWV 112 12:54
08 1. [Chorus]. Der Herr ist mein getreuer Hirt 02:35 $ 0.54 USD
09 2. Aria (Alto). Zum reinen Wasser er mich weist 03:58 $ 0.83 USD
10 3. Recitativo (Basso). Und ob ich wandert im finstern Tal 01:37 $ 0.34 USD
11 4. [Duetto] (Soprano, Tenore). Du bereitest für mir einen
03:45 $ 0.79 USD
12 5. Choral. Gutes und die Barmherzigkeit 00:59 $ 0.21 USD
  Wir danken dir, Gott, wir danken dir, BWV 29 23:18
13 1. Sinfonia 03:37 $ 0.76 USD
14 2. Chorus. Wir danken dir, Gott, wir danken dir 03:11 $ 0.67 USD
15 3. Aria (Tenore). Halleluja, Stärk und Macht 05:38 $ 1.18 USD
16 4. Recitativo (Basso). Gott Lob! es geht uns wohl! 00:58 $ 0.20 USD
17 5. Aria (Soprano). Gedenk an uns mit deiner Liebe 05:49 $ 1.22 USD
18 6. Recitativo [e Chorus] (Alto). Vergiss es ferner nicht,
mit deiner Hand
00:29 $ 0.10 USD
19 7. Arioso (Alto). Halleluja, Stärk und Macht 01:49 $ 0.38 USD
20 8. Choral. Sei Lob und Preis mit Ehren 01:47 $ 0.37 USD
  Album total 63:38
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
TenorTürk, Gerd
SopranoBlažíková, Hana
BassKooij, Peter
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News