Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Bach - The Motets

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2251 SACD
Release date2017-11-10
Orig. sample rate96000 Hz
Total time67:39

Bach's motets are surrounded by much uncertainty. To begin with, we do not know how many he actually composed, as some have been lost while others have been wrongly attributed to him. Although several of the motets were written for funerals, it is also uncertain if they were actually performed during church services: as a genre, the motet was established as early as the 13th century and by Bach's time it was considered to be old-fashioned and backward-looking.

Even so, the motets are the only vocal works by Bach that have an unbroken performance tradition until the present time, which may serve as testimony to the powerful response that they induce in listeners and performers alike. They were originally believed to have been composed for choir a cappella, but it is now thought that Bach himself may have performed them either a cappella or with instruments doubling the vocal parts and with basso continuo. For this recording, Grete Pedersen has opted for variety, performing four of the works with the support of the instrumentalists of Ensemble Allegria, and the remaining three with organ continuo. As on their previous, highly acclaimed releases on BIS, the Norwegian Soloists’ Choir shine in what surely is the absolute core repertoire for mixed choir.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 16.20
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Komm, Jesu, komm, BWV 229 08:11
01 1. Chorus. Komm, Jesu, komm 06:50 $ 1.65 USD
02 2. Aria. Drum schließ ich mich in deine Hände 01:21 $ 0.36 USD
  Furchte dich nicht, ich bin bei dir, BWV 228
03 Fürchte dich nicht, ich bin bei dir, BWV 228 07:57 $ 1.96 USD
  Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf, BWV 226 07:08
04 Chorus. Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf 03:18 $ 0.80 USD
05 Alla breve. Der aber die Herzen forschet 02:10 $ 0.52 USD
06 Chorale. Du heilige Brunst, süßer Trost 01:40 $ 0.46 USD
  Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 227 20:23
07 1. Chorale Verse 1. Jesu, meine Freude 01:11 $ 0.29 USD
08 2. Chorus. Es ist nun nichts Verdammliches an denen 02:32 $ 0.61 USD
09 3. Chorale Verse 2. Unter deinen Schirmen 01:09 $ 0.28 USD
10 4. Trio. Denn das Gesetz des Geistes 00:55 $ 0.22 USD
11 5. Chorale Verse 3. Trotz dem alten Drachen 02:17 $ 0.55 USD
12 6. Fugue. Ihr aber seid nicht fleischlich 02:34 $ 0.62 USD
13 7. Chorale Verse 4. Weg mit allen Schätzen! 01:06 $ 0.26 USD
14 8. Trio. So aber Christus in euch ist 02:07 $ 0.51 USD
15 9. Chorale Verse 5. Gute Nacht, o Wesen 03:56 $ 0.94 USD
16 10. Chorus. So nun der Geist 01:20 $ 0.32 USD
17 11. Chorale Verse 6. Weicht, ihr Trauergeister 01:16 $ 0.35 USD
  Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden, BWV 230 
18 Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden, BWV 230 05:39 $ 1.40 USD
  O Jesu Christ, meins Lebens Licht, BWV 118 
19 O Jesu Christ, meins Lebens Licht, BWV 118 04:55 $ 1.18 USD
  Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, BWV 225 11:43
20 1. Chorus. Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied 04:18 $ 1.04 USD
21 2. Chorale/Aria. Wie sich ein Vater erbarmet 04:11 $ 1.00 USD
22 3. Chorus. Lobet den Herrn in seinen Taten 03:14 $ 0.88 USD
  Album total 67:39
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
LyricistBehm, Martin
Franck, Johann
Gerhardt, Paul
Gramann, Johann
Luther, Martin
Thymich, Paul
SopranoBraein, Ditte Marie
Korsvik, Magnhild
Solset, Berit
AltoAskvik, Mari
Carlsson, Daniel
TenorLawrence, Tim
Tsuji, Masashi
BassFestervoll Melien, Halvor
Holmgren, Olle

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News