Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Helena Munktell - Violin Sonata, Dix Mélodies & Kleines Trio

Catalogue numberBIS-2204 SACD
Release date2021-01-08
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time73:37

This is the first ever album devoted to the chamber music of Helena Munktell, one of the earliest female composers in Sweden. The daughter of an industrialist, Munktell received private lessons in piano and song from an early age, but soon also training in music theory and composition. In 1877 she visited Paris, where two of her sisters lived, and during the next thirty-odd years the city would be a second home to her. Here she studied with composers such as Benjamin Godard and Vincent d’Indy, and became a member of Société Nationale de Musique (SNM), an organisation promoting French music and providing opportunities for young composers to have their works performed.

A selection of Munktell’s songs had been performed, in Swedish, at a Society concert in 1892 and in 1900 they were heard again, but now in the French versions released the same year by the reputed musical publisher Alphonse Leduc. The Dix Mélodies are finely crafted musical scenes displaying a wide expressive range and variety of moods. Five years later another SNM concert saw the first performance of Munktell’s Violin Sonata in E flat major, by none other than the renowned Romanian violinist George Enescu. Franck’s famous A major Sonata, which Munktell knew well, served as an important source of inspiration in regards to the cyclic form and harmonic writing. The sonata soon appeared in print, now from E. Demets, another French music publisher. The third work on this disc is a small-scale piano trio, probably an early work and possibly composed for performance at one of the musical salons at the Munktell family home in Stockholm.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 17.63
Extra material for download
  Composer: Munktell, Helena
  Sonata in E flat major for violin and piano, Op. 21 30:11
01 I. Allegro non tanto, vigoroso 08:31 $ 2.04 USD
02 II. Scherzo brusco. Moderato energico 05:05 $ 1.22 USD
03 III. Andante quasi Adagio 08:00 $ 1.92 USD
04 IV. Finale. Allegro con brio 08:35 $ 2.06 USD
  Dix Mélodies for voice and piano 27:12
05 1. Sérénade 02:58 $ 0.71 USD
06 2. Dans le lointain des bois 02:29 $ 0.60 USD
07 3. Ce qu’entendent les nuits 02:12 $ 0.53 USD
08 4. D’un berceau 03:31 $ 0.84 USD
09 5. Cantilène 02:36 $ 0.62 USD
10 6. Fascination 02:12 $ 0.53 USD
11 7. La dernière berceuse 02:38 $ 0.63 USD
12 8. Exil d’amour 03:34 $ 0.86 USD
13 9. Si tu le voulais 02:08 $ 0.51 USD
14 10. Fidélité 02:54 $ 0.70 USD
  Kleines Trio for piano, violin and cello 09:29
15 I. Allegro moderato 02:00 $ 0.48 USD
16 II. Andante espressivo 03:03 $ 0.73 USD
17 III. Scherzo Finale 04:26 $ 1.06 USD
  from Sonata in E flat major for violin and piano, Op. 21
18 II. Scherzo brusco. Moderato energico (original version) 06:36 $ 1.58 USD
  Album total 73:37
ComposerMunktell, Helena
ViolinRingborg, Tobias
PianoFriis Johansson, Peter
SopranoAsplund, Sofie
CelloWiniarski, Kristina

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News