Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Haydn – Acide

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1812 SACD
Release date2009-01-10
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time63:57

In connection with the 2009 bicentenary of the death of Joseph Haydn, BIS Records and the Haydn Sinfonietta Wien have entered into a collaboration which will bear fruit in several recordings. The repertoire will mainly consist of rare works from Haydn’s œuvre, including music written for the stage, concert arias and orchestral works. Also included will be rereleases of the highly acclaimed recordings by Haydn Sinfonietta Wien and its conductor Manfred Huss of Haydn’s overtures, divertimenti etc.

We often think of Haydn as a composer of symphonies, string quartets and piano sonatas – that is, of instrumental music in various forms. But in fact, he probably wrote as much vocal music, in a variety of genres. The late, great oratorios are still justly famous – The Creation and The Seasons – but he also composed twelve large-scale Masses, a number of cantatas and other sacred works, as well as songs, concert arias and as many as 21 operas and Singspiele. Some of these have been lost, but the majority still exist in more or less complete form. The earliest of these is Acide, the fragment of an opera composed for the celebrations of the wedding of Count Anton Esterházy and Countess Maria Theresia Erdödy, and performed at the Esterházy residence at Eisenstadt on 11th January 1763. The Italian libretto, by G. A. Migliavacca, retells the well-known episode from Ovid’s Metamorphoses in which the nymph Galatea witnesses the death of her lover Acis (Acide) at the hands of the cyclops Polyphemus, and his subsequent transformation into a river-god: a tale of undying love fit for the circumstances of the performance. Four arias and most of the recitatives from the original 1763 version of Acide have been lost, but complementing the remaining numbers are two arias and a recitative composed by Haydn for a planned second production in 1773, a project which in the end came to nothing. The research into the different versions of the work has been made by Manfred Huss, director of Haydn Sinfonietta Wien, who has also assembled a cast of eminent singers to perform this ‘festa teatrale’ in a recording which took place in May 2008. The ample booklet, which includes liner notes by Manfred Huss and a synopsis in three languages, as well as the libretto in Italian and in English, is packed alongside the jewel-case in a cardboard slipcase.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 14.35
Extra material for download
  Composer: Haydn, Joseph
  Acide - Festa teatrale, Hob.XXVIII:1 68:20
01 Overture: Sinfonia (Allegro molto) - 02:15 $ 0.47 USD
02 Overture: Sinfonia (Andante grazioso) - 02:47 $ 0.58 USD
03 Overture: Sinfonia (Finale. Presto) 01:33 $ 0.33 USD
04 Aria Acide: La beltà 10:26 $ 2.19 USD
05 Aria (fragment) Galatea: Troppo felice 02:16 $ 0.48 USD
06 Aria Glauce: Perché stupisci 06:57 $ 1.46 USD
07 Aria Polifemo: Se men gentile 06:45 $ 1.42 USD
08 Recitativo accompagnato Acide: Misero! Che ascolto? 05:02 $ 1.06 USD
09 Entr’acte. Adagio [Symphony No.12, second movement] 03:58 $ 0.83 USD
10 Recitativo accompagnato Galatea: Giusti Dei 05:37 $ 1.18 USD
11 Entr’acte. Allegro [Symphony No.12, first movement] 02:30 $ 0.53 USD
12 Aria Nettuno: Tergi i vezzosi 05:31 $ 1.16 USD
13 Aria Tetide: Tergi i vezzosi 07:52 $ 1.65 USD
14 Quartetto Galatea, Acide, Glauce, Tetide: Ah vedrai 04:51 $ 1.02 USD
  Album total 63:57
ConductorHuss, Manfred
ComposerHaydn, Joseph
OrchestraHaydn Sinfonietta Wien
TenorRichter, Bernard
SopranoMilanesi, Raffaella
O’Loughlin, Jennifer
BaritonePaley, Iván
Mezzo sopranoSimonian, Adrineh

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News