Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.54

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2021 SACD
Release date2013-08-10
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time75:40

Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik, Fono Forum
”Choral & Song Choice”, BBC Music Magazine

”…we have here another excellent entry in Suzuki’s cantata cycle…” Fanfare

As the penultimate volume in the acclaimed cycle recorded by Masaaki Suzuki and his Bach Collegium Japan sees the light of day, it is a sobering thought that as many as a hundred of Bach's church cantatas may have been lost.

The exact number would be difficult to ascertain, but what we do know is that Bach probably composed at least one more complete set of cantatas – for the church year of 1728-29 – and of this set only nine are extant. The fragment Ehre sei Gott in der Höhe, BWV197a, apparently intended for Christmas Day of 1728, is one of these.

Bach's autograph score lacks no fewer than 24 pages, meaning that the first three movements and a large proportion of the fourth have been lost. We are fortunate, however, in that nine years later Bach reused parts of the work in the large-scale wedding cantata Gott ist unsre Zuversicht, BWV197.

This has made it possible to reconstruct the missing part of the fourth movement – an alto aria addressed to baby Jesus in the manger – and also allows for interesting comparisons between the two versions.

The other two works included in this volume were both composed around 1735, and give rich evidence of Bach's versatility in terms of style.

The contrast is striking between the decidedly fashionable bass aria BWV100/4, with its syncopated melody and gossamer string writing, and the highly intricate counterpoint that Bach lays out in Wär Gott nicht mit uns, the opening chorus of BWV14.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.66
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan, BWV100 20:04
01 Versus 1 [Chorus]. Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan… 04:27 $ 0.93 USD
02 Versus 2 Duetto (Alto, Tenore). Was Gott tut, das ist
02:55 $ 0.61 USD
03 Versus 3 [Aria] (Soprano). Was Gott tut, das ist
04:45 $ 1.00 USD
04 Versus 4 [Aria] (Basso). Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan… 03:20 $ 0.70 USD
05 Versus 5 [Aria] (Alto). Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan… 02:49 $ 0.59 USD
06 Versus ultimus [Choral]. Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan… 01:48 $ 0.38 USD
  Wär Gott nicht mit uns diese Zeit, BWV14 14:36
07 1. [Chorus]. Wär Gott nicht mit uns diese Zeit… 05:01 $ 1.05 USD
08 2. Aria (Soprano). Unsre Stärke heißt zu schwach… 04:10 $ 0.88 USD
09 3. Recitativo (Tenore). Ja, hätt es Gott nur zugegeben… 00:45 $ 0.16 USD
10 4. Aria (Basso). Gott, bei deinem starken Schützen… 03:46 $ 0.79 USD
11 5. Choral. Gott Lob und Dank, der nicht zugab… 00:54 $ 0.19 USD
  Gott ist unsre Zuversicht, BWV197 28:27
12 1. [Chorus]. Gott ist unsre Zuversicht… 05:56 $ 1.25 USD
13 2. Recitativo (Basso). Gott ist und bleibt der beste
01:13 $ 0.26 USD
14 3. Aria (Alto). Schläfert allen Sorgenkummer… 07:07 $ 1.49 USD
15 4. Recitativo (Basso). Drum folget Gott und seinem Triebe… 00:44 $ 0.15 USD
16 5. Choral. Du süße Lieb, schenk uns deine Gunst… 00:56 $ 0.20 USD
17 6. Aria (Basso). O du angenehmes Paar… 05:23 $ 1.13 USD
18 7. Recitativo (Soprano). So wie es Gott mit dir… 01:27 $ 0.30 USD
19 8. Aria (Soprano). Vergnügen und Lust… 04:01 $ 0.84 USD
20 9. Recitativo (Basso). Und dieser frohe Lebenslauf… 00:47 $ 0.16 USD
21 10. Choral. So wandelt froh auf Gottes Wegen… 00:53 $ 0.19 USD
  Ehre sei Gott in der Höhe, BWV197a (fragment) 11:28
22 4. Aria (Alto). O! du angenehmer Schatz… 05:17 $ 1.11 USD
23 5. Recitativo (Basso). Das Kind ist mein… 01:23 $ 0.29 USD
24 6. Aria (Basso). Ich lasse dich nicht… 03:51 $ 0.81 USD
25 7. Choral. Wohlan! so will ich mich… 00:57 $ 0.20 USD
  Album total 75:40
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorMasaaki Suzuki
Suzuki, Masaaki
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
Bach, Johann Sebastian
BassKooij, Peter
Counter-tenorGuillon, Damien
SopranoBlažíková, Hana
TenorTurk (Türk), Gerd

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News