Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Maxim Rysanov plays Bach Suites II

Catalogue numberBIS-2033 SACD
Release date2014-02-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time64:49

“As Rysanov plays it, it’s like listening to and falling in love with the piece for the first time.” Gramophone

It was with three of Bach’s cello suites, transcribed for the viola, that Maxim Rysanov made his début on BIS in 2010 – a disc which was greeted with critical acclaim: in The Strad it earned the magazine’s prestigious recommendation, and to the reviewer on the German web site it ‘clearly demonstrated that Rysanov knows how to decipher Bach’s musical language with the assurance of a master’. His colleague in Sunday Times agreed, but had one reservation: ‘Rysanov’s recording of Bach’s suites is near perfection; the only flaw being that he did not perform all six.’ With the present disc that flaw is now being rectified, and the set is complete. During the time that passed between the two discs, and also between the two sessions in which Suites Nos 2, 3 and 6 were recorded, Rysanov’s conception of how to perform and record Bach has not remained static – as he commented in connection with the first disc: ‘it shows my approach to Bach playing at this point in time, with its mix of different backgrounds, schools and experiences from working with other musicians’. Four years later, the same can be said about its sequel – a testament to the infinite possibilities that these works hold in terms of interpretation and performance. For the sixth suite, which is usually transposed a fifth down, to G major when performed by violists, Rysanov has opted to remain faithful to the original key: ‘the purity of D major reminds me of being on top of a mountain, that clear air and a silence so powerful that it makes the ears start to buzz…’ The suite was originally written for a five-stringed instrument, but is heard here on Rysanov’s own four-stringed viola built by Giuseppe Guadagnini in 1780.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.16
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Suite No.3 in C major, BWV1009 19:54
01 I. Prélude 02:56 $ 0.70 USD
02 II. Allemande 04:01 $ 0.96 USD
03 III. Courante 03:09 $ 0.76 USD
04 IV. Sarabande 03:25 $ 0.82 USD
05 V. Bourrée I – Bourrée II 03:20 $ 0.80 USD
06 VI. Gigue 03:03 $ 0.73 USD
  Suite No.2 in D minor, BWV1008 16:11
07 I. Prélude 03:21 $ 0.80 USD
08 II. Allemande 02:39 $ 0.64 USD
09 III. Courante 01:32 $ 0.37 USD
10 IV. Sarabande 04:01 $ 0.96 USD
11 V. Menuet I – Menuet II 02:23 $ 0.57 USD
12 VI. Gigue 02:15 $ 0.54 USD
  Suite No.6 in D major, BWV1012 27:06
13 I. Prélude 04:32 $ 1.09 USD
14 II. Allemande 07:47 $ 1.87 USD
15 III. Courante 03:35 $ 0.86 USD
16 IV. Sarabande 03:59 $ 0.96 USD
17 V. Gavotte I – Gavotte II 03:12 $ 0.77 USD
18 VI. Gigue 04:01 $ 0.96 USD
  Album total 64:49
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ViolaRysanov, Maxim

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News