Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Nystedt / Bach – Meins Lebens Licht

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2184 SACD
Release date2015-09-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time59:00

This disc is the moving homage of the Norwegian Soloists’ Choir to the man who founded it in 1950 and remained its leader for 40 years. The choral conductor and composer Knut Nystedt passed away in December 2014, at the age of 99, and the disc may to some extent be regarded as an epitaph for him. Alongside two Bach motets, which belonged to Nystedt’s own repertoire as a choral conductor, the programme includes four works which span almost forty years of Nystedt’s long career, from Peace I leave with you, written in 1957 and still one of the composer’s most often performed works, to Be not afraid from 1995. These two motets, as well as O Crux (1977) – which Nystedt himself regarded as one of his main works – are a cappella compositions, while the setting from 1986 of Ave Maria is something as rare as a work for solo violin and mixed choir. The violin part is performed by Maria Angelika Carlsen, artistic leader of the Ensemble Allegria, a group of young Norwegian string players. The ensemble joins the choir in the two Bach motets, and also in the closing work on the disc: Immortal Bach, which incidentally formed part of Nystedt’s farewell concert with the Norwegian Soloists’ Choir in 1990. In this atmospheric piece, the composer has taken the first eight bars of Bach’s chorale Komm, süsser Tod, stretching the tempo of its melodies and harmonies to create an impression of timelessness and endlessness. In the present recording, the choir is reinforced by strings in an arrangement by Grete Pedersen, Nystedt's successor as artistic leader of the choir. Five previous discs with Grete Pedersen and the Norwegian Soloists’ Choir have received critical acclaim worldwide, as well as distinctions such as Editor’s Choice (Gramophone), Diapason d’Or (Diapason), Empfohlen ( and Disco excepcional (Scherzo).
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.79
Extra material for download
  Composer: Nystedt, Knut
01 Peace I leave with you, Op.43 No.2 02:33 $ 0.61 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
02 O Jesu Christ, meins Lebens Licht, BWV118 08:31 $ 2.04 USD
  Composer: Nystedt, Knut
03 Be not afraid, Op.146 04:09 $ 1.00 USD
04 Ave Maria for violin and mixed choir, Op.110 10:55 $ 2.62 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Jesu, meine Freude, BWV227 20:28
05 Chorale: Jesu, meine Freude 01:12 $ 0.29 USD
06 Chorus: Es ist nun nichts Verdammliches 02:33 $ 0.61 USD
07 Chorale: Unter deinen Schirmen 01:10 $ 0.28 USD
08 Trio: Denn das Gesetz 00:55 $ 0.22 USD
09 Chorale: Trotz dem alten Drachen 02:18 $ 0.55 USD
10 Fugue: Ihr aber seid nicht fleischlich 02:34 $ 0.62 USD
11 Chorale: Weg mit allen Schätzen! 01:06 $ 0.26 USD
12 Trio: So aber Christus in euch ist 02:08 $ 0.51 USD
13 Chorale: Gute Nacht, o Wesen 03:56 $ 0.94 USD
14 Chorus: So nun der Geist 01:20 $ 0.32 USD
15 Chorale: Weicht, ihr Trauergeister 01:16 $ 0.30 USD
  Composer: Nystedt, Knut
16 O Crux, Op.79 06:06 $ 1.46 USD
17 Immortal Bach, after J.S. Bach (BWV478) 04:46 $ 1.14 USD
  Album total 59:00
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
Nystedt, Knut
ConductorPedersen, Grete
ChoirDet Norske Solistkor
EnsembleEnsemble Allegria

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News