Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Gershwin: Porgy & Bess (Highlights) [Live]

24 FLAC Discount

The Philadelphia Orchestra and conductor Marin Alsop present a live recording with highlights of Gershwin’s self-proclaimed American “Folk Opera” Porgy and Bess, together with a stellar cast and the Morgan State University Choir. Since its premiere in 1935, Porgy and Bess has been one of the most significant attempts to – following Antonin Dvořák’s famous instruction of 1893 – create American classical music inspired by Afro-American styles such as jazz, spirituals and the blues. It has also proven to be a powerful catalyst for bringing more diverse casts to the opera stage. The hard-knock life at a Charleston waterfront tenement is presented here by an outstanding cast including Lester Lynch (Porgy), Angel Blue (Bess, Clara and Serena), Chauncey Packer (Sportin’ Life) and Kevin Short (Crown, Jake).

Marin Alsop is one of today’s most acclaimed conductors, and the first woman to serve as the head of a major orchestra in the United States, South America, Austria and Britain. The Philadelphia Orchestra is one of the world’s preeminent orchestras. Multi-award-winning soprano Angel Blue is one of the most promising voices of her generation, while Chauncey Packer is arguably one of the greatest and sought-after Sportin’ Life interpreters today. Lester Lynch and Kevin Short both enjoy a flourishing stage career, as well as a vast PENTATONE discography.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 12.02
Extra material for download
  Composer: Gershwin, George
  Porgy and Bess (Highlights) 66:45
01 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Introduction [Live] 01:03 $ 0.19 USD
02 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Summertime [Live] 02:39 $ 0.48 USD
03 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): A Woman Is a Sometime Thing
02:17 $ 0.41 USD
04 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Where Is Brudder Robbins? He's
a Gone, Gone, Gone [Live]
05:24 $ 0.97 USD
05 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Overflow [Live] 01:34 $ 0.28 USD
06 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): My Man's Gone Now [Live] 04:04 $ 0.73 USD
07 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): I Got Plenty o' Nuttin' [Live] 03:08 $ 0.56 USD
08 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Lo' Bess, Goin' to Picnic?
03:48 $ 0.68 USD
09 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Bess, You Is My Woman Now
05:22 $ 0.97 USD
10 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Oh, I Can't Sit Down [Live] 02:17 $ 0.41 USD
11 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Porgy, I Hates to Go [Live] 02:04 $ 0.37 USD
12 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): It Ain't Necessarily So [Live] 04:05 $ 0.74 USD
13 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Hear What I Tell You [Live] 03:10 $ 0.57 USD
14 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): What You Want wid Bess? [Live] 04:08 $ 0.74 USD
15 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Now de Time, Oh Gawd - I Loves
You, Porgy [Live]
07:16 $ 1.31 USD
16 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Andantino dolente [Live] 01:20 $ 0.24 USD
17 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Clara, Clara - Jesus Is Walkin'
on de Water [Live]
02:20 $ 0.42 USD
18 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Cheer Up, Sistuh [Live] 00:52 $ 0.16 USD
19 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): There's a Boat Dat's Leavin'
Soon for New York [Live]
02:25 $ 0.44 USD
20 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): You Low Crawlin' Hound! [Live] 01:57 $ 0.35 USD
21 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Thank Gawd I's Home Again!
03:49 $ 0.69 USD
22 Porgy and Bess (Highlights): Oh Lawd, I'm on My Way [Live] 01:43 $ 0.31 USD
  Album total 66:45
ComposerGershwin, George
ConductorAlsop, Marin
OrchestraThe Philadelphia Orchestra
LyricistGershwin, Ira
Heyward, Dorothy
Heyward, DuBose
SopranoBlue, Angel
Crichlow, Alexandria
ChoirMorgan State University Choir
Bass-baritoneShort, Kevin
TenorPacker, Chauncey
Scott, Darrin
BaritoneLynch, Lester

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News