Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Overtures to Bach

Catalogue numberPTC5186561
Release date2016-09-02
Orig. sample rate96000 Hz

Matt Haimovitz’s continuously-evolving and intense engagement with the Bach Cello Suites reaches a new zenith with Overtures to Bach, six new commissions that anticipate and reflect each of the cello suites. The new overtures expand upon the multitude of spiritual, cross-cultural, and vernacular references found in the Bach, building a bridge from the master’s time to our own. The solo cello recital has been a Haimovitz trademark since the year 2000, when he made waves with his Bach “Listening-Room” Tour, in unconventional venues throughout the US. In the fall of 2015, he released his profound new interpretation of the Bach Suites, The Cello Suites According to Anna Magdalena, inspired and informed by an authoritative manuscript by Bach’s second wife, and performed on period instruments. The new album, Overtures to Bach, pairs each new work with the Prélude from the suite it introduces, with Haimovitz performing on cello and cello piccolo. Philip Glass simply and eloquently prepares the audience for the first Suite with his Overture, encouraging an open and calm frame of mind. For the second suite, Du Yun creates a heartbreaking quilt of cries in The Veronica, mingling a Russian Orthodox prayer for the dead, Serbian chant, and central European gypsy fiddle music. Vijay Iyer’s Run responds to Bach’s third suite with infectious energy and kinesthetic rhythms that celebrate the natural resonance of the instrument as well as the composer’s jazz roots. Then, Roberto Sierra’s La memoria plays on our memory of Bach's Suite IV, seamlessly referencing motivic fragments and creating a kaleidoscopic mirage with the exotic flavors of Caribbean bass lines and salsa rhythms. David Sanford’s Es War, a response to the fifth suite, opens with a tour de force of pizzicato, then wrestles with Bach’s epic fugue with a saxophone’s wails. For the sixth and final suite, Luna Pearl Woolf is inspired by pre-Western Hawaiian chant, taking full advantage of the virtuosic properties of the cello piccolo and treating it operatically, from the low bass to the soprano stratosphere.

Overtures to Bach spans more than time, linking us to far-flung corners of our musical world and offering an entrée into six distinct compositional voices. Then, as Philip Glass writes, “Just let Bach’s music begin. It’s there for the listening.”
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 20.46
Extra material for download
01 Overture 05:36 $ 1.51 USD
  Cello Suite No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007
02 Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007: I. Prélude 02:15 $ 0.61 USD
03 The Veronica 11:57 $ 3.23 USD
  Cello Suite No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1008
04 Cello Suite No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1008: I. Prélude 03:56 $ 1.06 USD
05 Run 07:28 $ 2.02 USD
  Cello Suite No. 3 in C major, BWV 1009
06 Cello Suite No. 3 in C Major, BWV 1009: I. Prélude 03:20 $ 0.90 USD
07 La memoria 09:09 $ 2.47 USD
  Cello Suite No. 4 in E-Flat Major, BWV 1010
08 Cello Suite No. 4 in E-Flat Major, BWV 1010: I. Prélude 03:08 $ 0.85 USD
09 Es War 08:34 $ 2.31 USD
  Cello Suite No. 5 in C minor, BWV 1011
10 Cello Suite No. 5 in C Minor, BWV 1011: I. Prélude 05:27 $ 1.47 USD
11 Lili'uokalani 10:28 $ 2.83 USD
  Cello Suite No. 6 in D major, BWV 1012
12 Cello Suite No. 6 in D Major, BWV 1012: I. Prélude 04:28 $ 1.21 USD
  Album total 75:46
Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News