Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Verdi: Otello

24 FLAC Discount

The opera Otello by Giuseppe Verdi and Arrigo Boito not only represents the outstanding result of an intensely fruitful creative collaboration between composer and librettist, but also one of the most important core works ever in the opera repertoire. An outstandingly crafted literary foundation and a dramatic story, in which three extremely different people - with characters ranging from profoundly evil, madly jealous and distrustful, to enamoured of death - take an emotional roller-coaster ride. A ride ending in death for all three. This drama is supported by music that, despite its magic of its refined tones, never brushes aside the greatest priority of the Italian opera: the human voice. In Otello, Verdi succeeded in creating his own path leading to "music-drama as a 'Gesamtkunstwerk,' as a perfect synthesis between action and music." Leading the prestigious Gulbenkian Orchestra in this ambitious studio recording is the knowledgeable and experienced conductor Lawrence Foster, who has previously made impressive recordings of other operas for PENTATONE: a highly praised recording of Strauss's Zigeunerbaron (= gipsy baron) and Getty's Usher House.

The singers of the three main roles - Otello, lago, and Desdemona - already met for the complete recording of Getty's The Little Match Girl for PENTATONE, dating from 2014.

Melody Moore, Nikolai Schukoff, and Lester Lynch are now recording these roles for the first time. First and foremost, Melody Moore, who is one of the most promising American singers of her generation. In her first recording of an Italian opera for PENTATONE, she demonstrates that her truly youthful dramatic soprano voice is able to flawlessly continue the pure Italian tradition of a Renata Tebaldi. The Austrian tenor Nikolai Schukoff once again widens his professional range, singing the demanding title role of Otello with ardent intensity - for the first time, by the way, in the production at hand. As his abysmally evil opponent, the American baritone Lester Lynch matches him in vocal intensity.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 21.36
Extra material for download
Disc 1
  Composer: Verdi, Giuseppe
  Otello, Act I 32:47
01 Otello, Act I: Una vela! 04:22 $ 0.66 USD
02 Otello, Act I: Esultate! 05:11 $ 0.78 USD
03 Otello, Act I: Fuoco di gioia! 02:25 $ 0.36 USD
04 Otello, Act I: Roderigo, beviam! 01:38 $ 0.25 USD
05 Otello, Act I: Innaffia l'ugola! 03:53 $ 0.58 USD
06 Otello, Act I: Capitano, v'attende 01:28 $ 0.22 USD
07 Otello, Act I: Olà! Che avvien? 03:29 $ 0.52 USD
08 Otello, Act I: Già nella notte 02:37 $ 0.39 USD
09 Otello, Act I: Quando narravi 03:18 $ 0.50 USD
10 Otello, Act I: Venga la morte! 04:26 $ 0.67 USD
  Composer: Verdi, Giuseppe
  Otello, Act II 37:15
11 Otello, Act II: Non ti crucciar 03:08 $ 0.47 USD
12 Otello, Act II: Credo in un Dio crudel 04:21 $ 0.65 USD
13 Otello, Act II: Eccola 01:18 $ 0.20 USD
14 Otello, Act II: Ciò m'accora 04:41 $ 0.70 USD
15 Otello, Act II: Dove guardi splendono 05:06 $ 0.77 USD
16 Otello, Act II: D'un uom che geme 05:26 $ 0.82 USD
17 Otello, Act II: Desdemona rea! 01:41 $ 0.25 USD
18 Otello, Act II: Ora e per sempre addio 03:48 $ 0.57 USD
19 Otello, Act II: Era la notte 06:19 $ 0.95 USD
20 Otello, Act II: Sì, pel ciel 01:27 $ 0.22 USD
Disc 2
  Composer: Verdi, Giuseppe
  Otello, Act III 30:42
01 Otello, Act III: Introduction 01:24 $ 0.21 USD
02 Otello, Act III: La vedetta del porto 01:22 $ 0.21 USD
03 Otello, Act III: Dio ti giocondi, o sposo 10:44 $ 1.61 USD
04 Otello, Act III: Dio! Mi potevi scagliar 04:40 $ 0.70 USD
05 Otello, Act III: Vieni, l'aula è deserta 03:48 $ 0.57 USD
06 Otello, Act III: Questa è una ragna 01:54 $ 0.29 USD
07 Otello, Act III: Come la ucciderò? 01:16 $ 0.19 USD
08 Otello, Act III: Viva il Leon di San Marco! 05:34 $ 0.84 USD
  Composer: Verdi, Giuseppe
09 Otello: A terra! sì... nel livido fango 08:58 $ 1.35 USD
  Composer: Verdi, Giuseppe
  Otello, Act IV 32:41
10 Otello, Act IV: Era più calmo? 04:10 $ 0.63 USD
11 Otello, Act IV: Mia madre aveva una povera ancella 08:36 $ 1.29 USD
12 Otello, Act IV: Ave Maria 05:09 $ 0.77 USD
13 Otello, Act IV: Chi è là? 05:50 $ 0.88 USD
14 Otello, Act IV: Calma come la tomba 03:41 $ 0.55 USD
15 Otello, Act IV: Niun mi tema 05:15 $ 0.79 USD
  Album total 142:23
ComposerVerdi, Giuseppe
LyricistBoito, Arrigo
BaritoneCésar, Leandro
Lynch, Lester
TenorCardoso, Carlos
Schukoff, Nikolai
You, Junho
VocalsRodrigues, Luis
ChoirCoro Gulbenkian
Santa Cecilia Music Academy Children's Choir, Lisbon
OrchestraOrquestra Gulbenkian
ConductorFoster, Lawrence
SopranoMoore, Melody
Mezzo-sopranoZubanovich, Helena
BassShort, Kevin

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News