Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

French Cantatas by Rameau and Campra

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1495 CD
Release date2007-03-05
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time64:05

Klassik Heute: outstanding.

Rameau’s cantatas are early works in which he experimented with the forms and styles which he would later incorporate into his operas. Both Aquilon and Thétis, each based on a classical subject and featuring an obbligato violin part, were written about 1704 by a composer who had just entered his twenties. Some ten years later Les Amants trahis appeared, in which two shepherds discuss the inconstancy of women, the older advising his younger and more idealistically minded colleague that all one can do is laugh it off. The short Air à boire is likewise a duet, first published in 1707 in the collection Airs serieux et à boire. As implied by its title it is a lusty drinking song, in Burgundian dialect. Published one year later, Les Femmes by Rameau’s older colleague André Campra (1660-1744) rounds off this programme of French Cantatas. Considered by contemporaries as the foremost French composer after Lully, Campra had by this time already written a number of operas, something which becomes evident as one listens to this cantata and, in particular, the wonderfully evocative ‘Fils de la nuit et du silence’, an air in praise of Sleep. Among previous BIS releases by London Baroque are a recording of Rameau’s Pièces de clavecin (BIS-CD-1385) which was highly praised by the critics – ‘the poise, delicacy and sheer enjoyment they communicate is a constant delight’ wrote the reviewer in BBC Music Magazine – as well as a disc with French trio sonatas (BIS-CD-1465) of which the German web site Klassik Heute wrote: ‘All that one could wish for in a performance of this music is present: charm, elegance, eloquence, force, flexibility, fire, intimacy and, most importantly, soul’ Here the group is joined by Peter Harvey, making his first disc on BIS but with a fine reputation for a beautiful voice as well as for great communicative skills based on an extensive career on stage and on record. In the works for two voices he is supported by English soprano Philippa Hyde.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.11
Extra material for download
  Composer: Rameau, Jean-Philippe
  Les Amants trahis 21:58
01 Récitatif - Duo: Ma bergère a trahi sa foi 02:38 $ 0.55 USD
02 Récitatif - Air vif: Lorsque malgré son inconstance 03:14 $ 0.68 USD
03 Récitatif - Air: Le désespoir n’est que folie 04:01 $ 0.84 USD
04 Récitatif - Air: Du dieu d’amour je prends tous les feux 06:05 $ 1.28 USD
05 Récitatif - Duo: Quand une volage beauté 06:00 $ 1.26 USD
  Composer: Rameau, Jean-Philippe
  Aquilon et Orithie 13:34
06 Récitatif - Air: Un amant tel que moi 03:54 $ 0.82 USD
07 Récitatif - Air: Servez mes feux à votre tour 04:40 $ 0.98 USD
08 Récitatif - Air: On peut toujours dans l’amoureux
05:00 $ 1.05 USD
  Composer: Rameau, Jean-Philippe
  Thétis 10:27
09 Prèlude 01:36 $ 0.34 USD
10 Récitatif - Air: Volez, tyrans des airs 02:59 $ 0.63 USD
11 Récitatif - Air: Partez, volez, brillants éclairs 02:54 $ 0.61 USD
12 Récitatif - Air gracieux: Beauté qu’un sort heureux
02:58 $ 0.62 USD
  Composer: Rameau, Jean-Philippe
13 Air à Boire 02:27 $ 0.51 USD
  Composer: Campra, André
  Les Femmes 14:00
14 Lentement: Dans un désert inaccessible 01:06 $ 0.23 USD
15 Air: Par les vents et par l’orage 01:31 $ 0.32 USD
16 Symphonie: Ah! qu’un cœur est malheureux 02:52 $ 0.60 USD
17 Vivement et mésuré: La Coquette nous trahit 00:51 $ 0.18 USD
18 Gravement: Fils de la nuit et du silence 05:00 $ 1.05 USD
19 Loure: Je borne mes rêveries 01:42 $ 0.36 USD
20 Rècitatif: Que les Amants dans leurs chaînes 00:58 $ 0.20 USD
  Album total 64:05
ComposerCampra, André
Rameau, Jean-Philippe
BaritoneHarvey, Peter
SopranoHyde, Philippa
EnsembleLondon Baroque

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News