Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Ernesto Lecuona - Love Songs

Catalogue numberBIS-1374 CD
Release date2004-05-27
Total time70:28

Gramophone: Editor's Choice; Fanare: The Want List.

It caused a sensation when BIS almost a decade ago released the first of a series devoted to the Cuban composer and performer Ernesto Lecuona’s piano music. Revealed to a wider audience was a string of unforgettable and often familiar melodies, of such natural charm that noone had ever thought to ask who had actually composed them.

The piano was Ernesto Lecuona’s instrument but throughout his life he also composed songs, many of which were given great currency from being used in films of his day. Right from the start of the Lecuona project it was our intention to add a disc of Lecuona’s songs to the solo piano music and we are now able to fulfil this wish.

Soprano Carole Farley brings a real enthusiasm for this music to the programme – as well as enviable vocal skills. She is accompanied by pianist John Constable with whom she has clearly developed a very close rapport. This disc of love songs traces the full range of emotions connected with human passion. And if the distinction of Editor’s Choice in the Gramophone (September 2004) is anything to go by, it seems that Lecuona’s Love Songs are as sensational as his piano music!

Some press voices:
‘Other recordings of Lecuona’s songs do exist, but this is the one that will put them on the map.’ Classical Music Web

’This album is likely to please lovers of the classical Lecuona, for the 25 songs are lovingly and beautifully rendered in Farley's amazing voice, with John Constable deftly matching the constant changes in mood.’ The Miami Herald 27 August 2004

’Carole Farley makes a wonderful advocate for the seductive languor of this music. A real gem of a disc!’ James Jolly, Editor of Gramophone September 2004
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 10.24
Extra material for download
  Composer: Lecuona, Ernesto
01 Siempre en mi corazón (Always in my heart) 03:35 $ 0.54 USD
02 Como presiento (The feeling I have) 02:17 $ 0.34 USD
03 Allá en la sierra (There in the mountains) from Córdoba 02:28 $ 0.37 USD
04 Tu no tienes corazón (You have no heart) 02:48 $ 0.42 USD
05 Mi corazón se fué (I lost my heart) 03:20 $ 0.50 USD
06 Dame de tus rosas (Give me of your roses) 03:44 $ 0.56 USD
07 ¡No es por ti! (It´s not because of you!) 02:31 $ 0.38 USD
08 ¡Mira! (Look!) (Text: José Serebrier) from La Habanera 03:02 $ 0.46 USD
09 Dame el amor (Give me your love) 02:53 $ 0.43 USD
10 Que risa me da (Oh what a laugh) (Text: Alvaro Suarez) 01:16 $ 0.19 USD
11 La comparsa (The procession) 02:33 $ 0.38 USD
12 Al fin (Finally) 03:38 $ 0.55 USD
13 Se abrieron las flores (The flowers opened) (Text: Alvaro
03:28 $ 0.52 USD
14 Conga Cuba 01:30 $ 0.23 USD
15 Amor tardio (Belated love) 01:55 $ 0.29 USD
16 En una noche así (On a night like this) 03:19 $ 0.50 USD
17 Devuélveme el corazón (Give me back my heart) (Text: José
02:28 $ 0.37 USD
18 Primavera de ilusión (Spring of illusion) 02:46 $ 0.42 USD
19 Un amor vendrá (A love will come) 03:03 $ 0.46 USD
20 Me has dejado (You have left me) 02:38 $ 0.40 USD
21 No me engañarás (You won´t deceive me) 02:47 $ 0.42 USD
22 Rumba mejoral (Pronouncing rumba) (Text: Alvaro Suarez) 01:01 $ 0.15 USD
23 No me mires ni nime hables (Don´t look at me or speak to
me) (Text: Alvaro Suarez)
02:52 $ 0.43 USD
24 Mi amor fue una flor (My love was a flower) 02:28 $ 0.37 USD
25 Canción del amor triste (Song of sad love) (Text: Juana de
03:55 $ 0.59 USD
  Album total 70:28
PianoConstable, John
SopranoFarley, Carole
ComposerLecuona, Ernesto

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News