Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter


Catalogue numberBIS-1972 SACD
Release date2012-06-01
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time78:24

‘A hum­ble attempt to build a metaphysical time bridge’ is how Vadim Gluzman himself describes his latest recording project: a disc which combines two partitas by J.S. Bach with two works by Eugène Ysaÿe and Lera Auerbach, each representing a view of Bach through the prism of the 20th and 21st century respectively. Gluzman opens with the Partita No.2 in D minor with is towering final Chaconne, described as‘one of the most won­der­ful, most incomprehensible pieces of music’by Brahms, one of the many composers that have engaged with that particular work in various ways. This is followed by Lera Auerbach’s par.ti.ta, composed specifically for Vadim Gluzman, who describes the work as ‘projecting Lera’s lifelong fascination with Bach… No particular work is being quoted, yet I can’t help the feeling of being drawn to a world of shades, echoes – are these shades of ourselves?’ If the relationship to Bach’s music is mainly hinted at in the ten brief movements of par.ti.ta, the parallels are more apparent inYsaÿe ‘s Sonata in A minor. It was composed in 1924 as the second of a set of six, each sonata dedicated to a fellow violin virtuoso. The A minor sonata was written with the French violinist Jacques Thi­baud in mind, and opens with a quote from one of his daily practice pieces – the Prelude of Bach’s Partita No.3 in E major, which precedes it on this disc. But Ysaÿe’s method is far from slavish imitation – although the affinity is obvious, he incorporates elements wholly alien to Bach, including the recurring Dies Irae motif, which along with the rich chromaticism contributes to the almost Gothic atmosphere, and instrumental techniques such as sul ponticello and pizzicato. The highly versatile Vadim Gluzman has released a number of discs on BIS, ranging from solo works and chamber music by Lera Auerbach, Arvo Pärt and Alfred Schnittke, to the great violin concertos by Bruch and Tchaikovsky. Highly regarded by reviewers worldwide he is regularly compared to the great virtuosos of the early 20th century, both for the sound he makes on his ex-Leopold Auer Stradivarius violin and for a playing which is never less than wholly committed.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 18.35
Extra material for download
  Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
  Partita No.2 in D minor, BWV1004 (c.1717–20) 26:59
01 Allemanda 04:24 $ 1.06 USD
02 Corrente 02:23 $ 0.57 USD
03 Sarabanda 03:35 $ 0.86 USD
04 Giga 04:03 $ 0.97 USD
05 Ciaccona 12:34 $ 3.02 USD
  Composer: Auerbach, Lera
  par.ti.ta for violin solo (2007) 20:19
06 1. Adagio (Prelude) 01:57 $ 0.47 USD
07 2. Moderato 02:21 $ 0.56 USD
08 3. Andantino scherzando 01:21 $ 0.32 USD
09 4. Serioso 02:41 $ 0.64 USD
10 5. Andante 02:51 $ 0.68 USD
11 6. Vivo scuro 01:29 $ 0.36 USD
12 7. Adagio tragico 01:27 $ 0.35 USD
13 8. Grave 02:50 $ 0.68 USD
14 9. Allegro ossessivo 01:11 $ 0.28 USD
15 10. Postlude. Adagio 02:11 $ 0.52 USD
  Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
  Partita No.3 in E major, BWV1006 (c.1717–20) 17:26
16 Preludio 03:33 $ 0.85 USD
17 Loure 04:05 $ 0.98 USD
18 Gavotte en rondeau 02:50 $ 0.68 USD
19 Menuet I & II 03:56 $ 0.94 USD
20 Bourrée 01:19 $ 0.32 USD
21 Gigue 01:43 $ 0.41 USD
  Composer: Ysaÿe, Eugène
  Sonata in A minor for solo violin, Op.27 No.2 (1924) 11:44
22 Obsession. Prélude 02:07 $ 0.51 USD
23 Malinconia. Poco lento 02:51 $ 0.68 USD
24 Danse des ombres. Sarabande. Lento 04:00 $ 0.96 USD
25 Les Furies. Allegro furioso 02:46 $ 0.66 USD
  Album total 78:24
ComposerAuerbach, Lera
Johann Sebastian Bach
Ysaÿe, Eugène
ViolinGluzman, Vadim
Vadim Gluzman

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News