Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Händel – Neun Deutsche Arien

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1615 CD
Release date2009-12-28
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time69:47

Among Handel's vocal works - from the early, operatic solo cantatas to the full-blown operas and the oratorios of his London years - the Nine German Arias hold a special place. Possibly composed around the time that the composer made a final journey to Germany to take leave of his ailing mother, they were Handel's last settings of texts in his native language. It seems likely that these circumstances contributed to the intimate character of these highly personal works, in combination with the texts themselves. Barthold Heinrich Brockes' poems point ahead towards the Enlightenment, establishing as their setting a harmonically organised world, in which benevolent Nature is the prime example of God's bounty. Emma Kirkby has chosen to combine these arias with the much earlier Gloria, discovered in 2001 and given its première recording - by Emma Kirkby herself - in the same year. As a result of the smaller forces (two violins, cello and chamber organ) employed on this re-recording of the exuberant work, the performance has a more intimate atmosphere, giving an interesting perspective on a piece which although written 300 years ago, is still a new addition to the repertoire. Emma Kirkby and London Baroque share a musical relationship of long standing, and appear together on two previous Handel recordings on BIS. The recent 'Handel in Italy', a programme of early, secular solo cantatas, was highly praised by the reviewers, for instance in the German magazine Fono Forum: 'Emma Kirkby presents these pieces with a deep insight into human thought and feeling. her interaction with London Baroque is an impressive demonstration of how a common musical understanding has matured and strengthened throughout a collaboration of many years.' An earlier disc of 'Sacred Cantatas' also received a number of distinctions, including a 'BBC Music Choice' in BBC Music Magazine, whose reviewer had 'seldom been as moved by a recording, both music and performance.'
BBC Music Magazine: Double 5 Stars.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 14.20
Extra material for download
  Composer: Händel, Georg Friedrich
  Neun Deutsche Arien, HWV202–10 41:27
01 Künft’ger Zeiten eitler Kummer… Larghetto 04:55 $ 1.03 USD
02 Das zitternde Glänzen… Allegro 04:42 $ 0.99 USD
03 Süßer Blumen Ambraflocken… Andante 06:03 $ 1.27 USD
04 Süße Stille, sanfte Quelle… Larghetto 04:31 $ 0.95 USD
05 Singe, Seele, Gott zum Preise… Allegro 03:51 $ 0.81 USD
06 Meine Seele hört im Sehen… Andante 05:14 $ 1.10 USD
07 Die ihr aus dunkeln Grüften… Larghetto 04:27 $ 0.93 USD
08 In den angenehmen Büschen… A tempo giusto 02:47 $ 0.58 USD
09 Flammende Rose, Zierde der Erden… Andante 04:57 $ 1.04 USD
  Trio Sonata in F major, HWV392 10:33
10 I. 03:05 $ 0.65 USD
11 II. Allegro 02:10 $ 0.46 USD
12 III. Adagio 03:10 $ 0.67 USD
13 IV. Allegro 02:08 $ 0.45 USD
  Gloria 15:36
14 Gloria in excelsis Deo 02:20 $ 0.49 USD
15 Et in terra pax 02:23 $ 0.50 USD
16 Laudamus te 02:11 $ 0.46 USD
17 Domine Deus 01:18 $ 0.27 USD
18 Qui tollis 04:16 $ 0.90 USD
19 Quoniam tu solus sanctus 03:08 $ 0.66 USD
  Album total 69:47
EnsembleLondon Baroque
SopranoKirkby, Emma
ComposerHändel, Georg Friedrich

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News