Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Honey from the Hive: Songs by John Dowland for his Elizabethan Patrons

Catalogue numberBIS-1475 SACD
Release date2006-01-31
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time65:22

Gramophone: outstanding; Music Web International: outstanding.

If the court of Elizabeth I could be compared to a bee-hive, John Dowland was one of its workers, tirelessly bringing in news from the Continent which he constantly visited, and as tirelessly producing the spiritual sustenance vital for the court's existence. It is this honey that Emma Kirkby and Anthony Rooley have gathered in an imaginative recital that focuses on Dowland's relationship to his various patrons – among them Elizabeth I and the Earl of Essex.
Ever since the 1970s Dowland has been a constant companion and golden thread for Emma Kirkby and Anthony Rooley, both as members of The Consort of Musicke, and in their separate careers. Now they return to him together, and their pleasure in doing so is evident. In her opening notes, Emma Kirkby explains why this music continues to fascinate her: 'It speaks of anguish, delight and ineffable beauty, allowing the singer freedom to embody thoughts and emotions which listeners have recognized and shared ever since! Is it any wonder that returning to Dowland always feels like coming home?' And in his liner notes, Rooley describes how Dowland responded to his patron's – 'sometimes with humour, or with pathos, or in complex narrative, but anyway, always with creative dialogue' – and relishes the opportunity of recording 'a "mature Dowland", revisiting works known and loved for more than 35 years.'
Kirkby and Rooley first appeared together on a BIS disc in 1985, performing madrigals from the court of Christian IV of Denmark (incidentally another of Dowland's patrons) and their most recent collaboration was on Classical Kirkby – a disc which one reviewer described as 'essential listening for all admirers of English song.' Extending the invitation to all music-lovers, the same applies to the present disc!

Some press voices:

"Kirkby's simple voice is as perfect a complement to Rooley's lute as the melancolic, philosophical texts are to Downland's music." The Times 03/2006

"Kirkby's voice has gained more weight and vibrato with time while retaining its purity, resulting in a rich palette from which to choose and ideally complementing Rooley's tonal range," Grammaphone 04/2006

" ensemble, intonation and above all in their mutual musical vision, these two artists are as one." BBC Music 04/2006

"It seems obvious that here we have two superlative musicians making a recording simply because they want to share their love of the experience." International Record Review 03/2006
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.28
Extra material for download
  Composer: Dowland, John
  for the Earl of Essex: 12:00
01 Can shee excuse 02:38 $ 0.55 USD
02 O sweet woods 06:27 $ 1.35 USD
03 It was a time 02:55 $ 0.61 USD
  for Lucy, Countess of Bedford: 18:22
04 I saw my lady weepe 05:36 $ 1.18 USD
05 Flow my teares 03:47 $ 0.79 USD
06 Sorrow stay 02:48 $ 0.59 USD
07 Dye not beefore thy day 01:26 $ 0.30 USD
08 Mourne, mourne, day is with darknesse 01:49 $ 0.38 USD
09 Fine knacks for ladies 02:56 $ 0.62 USD
  for Queen Elizabeth I:
10 Farewell too faire 03:12 $ 0.67 USD
  for Queen Elisabeth I: 15:34
11 Time stands still 04:23 $ 0.92 USD
12 Behold a wonder here 02:48 $ 0.59 USD
13 Daphne was not so chaste 02:09 $ 0.45 USD
14 Me me and none but me 02:52 $ 0.60 USD
15 When Phoebus first did Daphne love 01:23 $ 0.29 USD
16 Say love of ever thou didst find 01:59 $ 0.42 USD
  for Sir Henry Lee: 14:06
17 His golden locks 03:32 $ 0.74 USD
18 Time's eldest sonne 03:44 $ 0.78 USD
19 Farre from Triumphing Court 06:50 $ 1.44 USD
  Album total 65:22
LuteRooley, Anthony
SopranoKirkby, Emma
ComposerDowland, John

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News