Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Butterflies and Illusions · Grieg: Lyric Pieces

Catalogue numberBIS-1629 CD
Release date2007-05-15
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time70:20

Klassik Heute: outstanding.

’With the accordion I am in the middle of the action. I narrate, sing, dance and walk – and also weep, lament, rejoice or express gratitude.’ This is how Mie Miki in her liner notes to this disc describes performing Grieg’s Lyric Pieces on the accordion. ’Butterfly, for instance, is played quite differently from on the piano: here I myself become the butterfly and regard the landscape from a butterfly’s perspective. On the piano just the opposite would have been true.’

Out of the 66 Lyric Pieces, Mie Miki has selected 24 of her favourites, presenting them interspersed with a few other pieces by Grieg: three Norwegian folk tunes and Anitra’s Dance and The Death of Åse from Peer Gynt. No adaptations have been necessary in transferring these beloved pieces to the accordion – Mie Miki plays them straight from the piano score. And yet, how differently they sound on the new instrument. The drones of some of the more folk-inspired dances are more reminiscent than ever of the harding-fiddle, and the butterfly flits back and forth more weightlessly. And as for emotional impact, the incessantly repeated melody of The Death of Åse grows into a storm of sorrow in the bellows of the instrument, before slowly coming to a resigned rest. Mie Miki is a highly versatile musician, as proved by her discography – on BIS she has released recordings of music from Heinrich Isaac and Machaut via Bach to Sofia Gubaidulina and contemporary Japanese composers such as Toshio Hosokawa. Described as a ‘tone painter on her instrument’ in a Fono Forum review of a previous disc, she here gives examples of every nuance available on her rich palette.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 14.09
Extra material for download
  Composer: Grieg, Edvard
01 Anitra’s Dance (Anitras dans, from Peer Gynt, Op.23) 03:02 $ 0.64 USD
  from Lyric Pieces I, Op.12: 08:52
02 VI. Norwegian (Norsk) 00:51 $ 0.18 USD
03 II. Waltz (Vals) 01:43 $ 0.36 USD
04 III. Watchman’s Song (Vektersang) 02:43 $ 0.57 USD
05 IV. Fairy Dance (Alfedans) 00:36 $ 0.13 USD
06 VII. Album Leaf (Albumblad) 01:23 $ 0.29 USD
07 VIII. National Song (Fedrelandssang) 01:36 $ 0.34 USD
  from Lyric Pieces II, Op.38: 02:33
08 II. Folk-song (Folkevise) 01:36 $ 0.34 USD
09 VII. Waltz (Vals) 00:57 $ 0.20 USD
  from Lyric Pieces III, Op.43: 07:27
10 I. Butterfly (Sommerfugl) 01:14 $ 0.26 USD
11 II. Solitary Traveller (Ensom vandrer) 02:00 $ 0.42 USD
12 III. In my Native Country (I hjemmet 02:02 $ 0.43 USD
13 IV. Little Bird (Småfugl) 02:11 $ 0.46 USD
  from Lyric Pieces IV, Op.47:
14 IV. Halling 01:25 $ 0.30 USD
  from Lyric Pieces V, Op.54:
15 III. March of the Dwarfs (Trolltog) 02:56 $ 0.62 USD
  from Lyric Pieces VI, Op.57: 12:34
16 III. Illusion (Illusjon) 03:06 $ 0.65 USD
17 IV. Secret (Hemmelighet) 04:58 $ 1.04 USD
18 VI. Homesickness (Hjemve) 04:30 $ 0.95 USD
  from 25 Norwegian Folk-songs and Dances, Op.17: 04:38
19 I. Springdans 02:12 $ 0.46 USD
20 II. The Swain (Ungersvennen) 00:46 $ 0.16 USD
21 VI. Wedding Tune (Brurelåt) 01:40 $ 0.35 USD
  from Lyric Pieces VII, Op.62:
22 II. Gratitude (Takk) 03:56 $ 0.83 USD
  from Lyric Pieces VIII, Op.65: 05:03
23 II. Peasant’s Song (Bondens sang) 01:33 $ 0.33 USD
24 V. Ballad (I balladetone) 03:30 $ 0.74 USD
  from Lyric Pieces IX, Op.68: 04:51
25 II. Grandmother’s Minuet (Bestemors menuett) 01:51 $ 0.39 USD
26 V. At the Cradle (Bådnlåt) 03:00 $ 0.63 USD
  from Lyric Pieces X, Op.71: 05:47
27 I. Once Upon a Time (Det var engang) 04:11 $ 0.88 USD
28 III. Puck (Småtroll) 01:36 $ 0.34 USD
  from Peer Gynt Suite No.1, Op.46:
29 The Death of Åse (Aases død) 04:03 $ 0.85 USD
  Album total 70:20
ComposerGrieg, Edvard
AccordionMiki, Mie

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News