Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Bach Suites – Maxim Rysanov

Catalogue numberBIS-1783 SACD
Release date2010-08-28
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time65:20

BBC Music Magazine: Double 5 Stars.

During their first 200 years, Johann Sebastian Bach's solo suites for cello led a curiously obscure existence. By 1720, the time of their composition, suites of their kind were already beginning to seem slightly outdated, and many of the dances which in stylized form appear in them were going out of fashion. Furthermore, the cello was generally regarded as a continuo instrument, and pieces allowing it a more prominent role were few and far between. In consequence, the suites were rarely performed - especially in their entirety - and rather treated as more suited for teaching the instrument. They were also often regarded as incomplete, and the fact that Schumann, among others, attempted to provide them with piano accompaniments serves as an illustration of how foreign the concept of solo works for the cello remained. It is Pablo Casals who is credited with the rediscovery of the cello suites: encountering them in the 1890's, he first brought them to the concert hall around the turn of the century. Soon after, in 1916, came the first published edition of the suites arranged for the viola. But again they were mainly seen as learning aids for budding violists, and it is only during the past decades that they have become part of the concert and recording repertoire of international soloists on the instrument. The latest of these is the highly regarded Ukrainian-born violist Maxim Rysanov, who in 2008 received a Gramophone Award as 'Young Artist of the Year'. Rysanov's career has developed rapidly, with acclaimed recordings and high profile appearances, including the Last Night of the BBC Proms in 2010. For his first recording for BIS he has selected the first, fourth and fifth of Bach's suites - these works of which Casals once wrote: 'They are the very essence of Bach, and Bach is the essence of music.'
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.34
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Suite No.4 in E flat major, BWV1010 22:47
01 I. Prélude 04:37 $ 0.97 USD
02 II. Allemande 03:42 $ 0.78 USD
03 III. Courante 03:14 $ 0.68 USD
04 IV. Sarabande 04:00 $ 0.84 USD
05 V. Bourrée I – Bourrée II 04:35 $ 0.96 USD
06 VI. Gigue 02:39 $ 0.56 USD
  Suite No.5 in C minor, BWV1011 24:19
07 I. Prélude 06:34 $ 1.38 USD
08 II. Allemande 04:09 $ 0.87 USD
09 III. Courante 02:10 $ 0.46 USD
10 IV. Sarabande 04:16 $ 0.90 USD
11 V. Gavotte I – Gavotte II 05:14 $ 1.10 USD
12 VI. Gigue 01:56 $ 0.41 USD
  Suite No.1 in G major, BWV1007 16:26
13 I. Prélude 02:14 $ 0.47 USD
14 II. Allemande 03:28 $ 0.73 USD
15 III. Courante 02:29 $ 0.52 USD
16 IV. Sarabande 02:56 $ 0.62 USD
17 V. Menuet I – Menuet II 03:47 $ 0.79 USD
18 VI. Gigue 01:32 $ 0.32 USD
  Album total 65:20
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ViolaRysanov, Maxim

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News