Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Rachmaninoff Vespers - All Night Vigil

Catalogue numberSIGCD054
Release date2005-02-01
Orig. sample rate44100Hz

Classic FM Magazine 5 Stars, Best buy April 2005.

The all-night vigil is celebrated on the eve of the main feasts of the Orthodox Church. The purpose is to show a sense of beauty in the setting sun and give the congregation a chance to consider the spiritual light of Christ, the new light of the coming day and the eternal light of the heavenly kingdom. The vigil consists of three separate services: Great Vespers, Matins (at midnight) and the First Hour or Prime (in the morning).

The work is dedicated to the scholar Stephan Vasilevitch Smolensky who introduced Rachmaninoff to the repertoire of the church, however the composer’s inspiration was as much politically motivated as spiritually – the composition was a powerful affirmation of nationalism during the war.

    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 10.84
Extra material for download
  Composer: Rachmaninov, Sergey
  Vespers, All-Night Vigil (Vsenoshchnoye bdeniye) 57:12
01 Come, let us worship 02:13 $ 0.40 USD
02 Bless the Lord, o my soul 04:46 $ 0.86 USD
03 Blessed is the Man 05:15 $ 0.95 USD
04 Gladsome light 02:35 $ 0.47 USD
05 Lord, now lettest Thou 03:11 $ 0.57 USD
06 Rejoice o Virgin 03:05 $ 0.56 USD
07 The six Psalms 02:28 $ 0.44 USD
08 Praise the Name of the Lord 02:04 $ 0.37 USD
09 Blessed art Thou o Lord 05:35 $ 1.01 USD
10 Having beheld the Resurrection of Christ 02:57 $ 0.53 USD
11 My Soul magnifies the Lord 08:10 $ 1.47 USD
12 The great Doxology 07:06 $ 1.28 USD
13 Today Salvation has come 01:44 $ 0.31 USD
14 Thou didst rise from the Tomb 03:17 $ 0.59 USD
15 To Thee, the victorious Leader 02:46 $ 0.50 USD
  Composer: Rachmaninov, Sergey
16 Liturgy of St John Chrysostom/Tebe poyem (We praise thee, we
bless thee)
03:02 $ 0.55 USD
  Album total 60:14

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News