Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Bach – Cantatas, Vol.49

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1891 SACD
Release date2011-08-20
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time72:07

In spite of the fact that more than 15 years have passed since Masaaki Suzuki and his Bach Collegium Japan began recording all of Bach’s church cantatas, the team’s commitment seems if anything to be increasing as this huge project enters its final stretch. The same evidently applies to the enthusiasm of the reviewers, who have been praising the latest instalments even more fulsomely than usual, with Diapason awarding top marks to Volume 44, Volume 46 being made a ‘Critics’ Choice’ in Gramophone, and BBC Music Magazine singling out both Volume 47 and 48 as ‘Choral & Song Choice of the Month’. In the present volume Masaaki Suzuki has gathered four works from 1728-29, with the common denominator that the texts for them were all written by the poet Christian Friedrich Henrici. Using the pseudonym Picander, Henrici collaborated with Bach on numerous occasions, most famously so in the St Matthew Passion and the Christmas Oratorio. The present cantata texts were included by the poet in a volume which contains similar texts spanning the entire church year, and it seems possible that Bach set the full cycle to music. As there are only nine extant 'Picander cantatas', this would mean that some fifty Bach cantatas have been lost without trace – a significant loss to music. The four works gathered here hint at the variety that may have characterized the Bach-Picander cantata year, with moods spanning from the jubilation of the New Year Cantata BWV171 to the anticipation of Jesus’ path of suffering in Sehet, wir gehn hinauf gen Jerusalem, BWV159, intended for the Sunday before Passiontide. There is also variety on a more technical level, with BWV188 and BWV156 both beginning with instrumental sinfonias featuring important solo parts for organ and oboe respectively.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 14.71
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Ich habe meine Zuversicht, BWV188 24:04
01 1. Sinfonia 07:50 $ 1.65 USD
02 2. Aria (Tenore). Ich habe meine Zuversicht… 06:38 $ 1.39 USD
03 3. Recitativo (Basso). Gott meint es gut mit jedermann… 01:59 $ 0.42 USD
04 4. Aria (Alto). Unerforschlich ist die Weise… 06:05 $ 1.28 USD
05 5. Recitativo (Soprano). Die Macht der Welt verlieret
00:44 $ 0.15 USD
06 6. Choral. Auf meinen lieben Gott… 00:48 $ 0.17 USD
  Ich steh mit einem Fuß im Grabe, BWV156 16:32
07 1. Sinfonia 02:47 $ 0.58 USD
08 2. Aria (Tenore, Soprano). Ich steh mit einem Fuß im
06:11 $ 1.30 USD
09 3. Recitativo (Basso). Mein Angst und Not… 01:32 $ 0.32 USD
10 4. Aria (Alto). Herr, was du willt, soll mir gefallen… 04:00 $ 0.84 USD
11 5. Recitativo (Basso). Und willst du, dass ich nicht soll
01:04 $ 0.22 USD
12 6. Choral. Herr, wie du willt, so schicks mit mir… 00:58 $ 0.20 USD
  Sehet, wir gehn hinauf gen Jerusalem, BWV159 14:49
13 1. Arioso e Recitativo (Basso, Alto). Sehet / Komm, schaue
02:34 $ 0.54 USD
14 2. Duetto (Alto, Soprano). Ich folge dir nach… 04:17 $ 0.90 USD
15 3. Recitativo (Tenore). Nun will ich mich… 00:57 $ 0.20 USD
16 4. Aria (Basso). Es ist vollbracht… 05:50 $ 1.23 USD
17 5. Choral. Jesu, deine Passion… 01:11 $ 0.25 USD
  Gott, wie dein Name, so ist auch dein Ruhm, BWV171 14:39
18 1. [Chorus]. Gott, wie dein Name… 01:56 $ 0.41 USD
19 2. Aria (Tenore). Herr, so weit die Wolken gehen… 03:53 $ 0.82 USD
20 3. Recitativo (Alto). Du süßer Jesus-Name du… 01:01 $ 0.21 USD
21 4. Aria (Soprano). Jesus soll mein erstes Wort… 04:07 $ 0.86 USD
22 5. Recitativo (Basso). Und da du, Herr, gesagt… 01:44 $ 0.36 USD
23 6. Choral. Lass uns das Jahr vollbringen… 01:58 $ 0.41 USD
  Album total 72:07
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
TenorTurk (Türk), Gerd
BassKooij, Peter
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin
SopranoNicholls, Rachel

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News