Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.24 (BWV 8, 33 and 113)

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1351 CD
Release date2004-03-28
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time67:37

Diapason d'or; Le Monde de la Musique: Choc de l'année.

Each new volume of J.S. Bach’s church cantatas continues to attract accolades from the musical press. The excellence of the Bach Collegium Japan led by their inspirational director Masaaki Suzuki and with a line-up of some of the best and most experienced vocal soloists are know entities. Everyone is pretty much in agreement: the cantatas have been entrusted to the best possible interpreters who take endless pains in preparing the recordings and still manage to convey the frisson of a live performance.

Perhaps what makes these recordings so special is the fact that the listener is constantly astounded at the quality of the music itself. We still nourish a romantic view of genius and think of a musical masterpiece as the product of a great and painful labour. Yet Bach produced a whole succession of masterpieces, week after week, in order to fulfil his obligations as Cantor of the Thomas Church in Leipzig. The present disc is a fine example of Bach’s development of the Church Cantata. The three cantatas are for “ordinary” Sundays in the liturgical year – 11th, 13th and 16th Sundays after Trinity. They were written in Bach’s second year as Thomas cantor in 1724. And they excellently demonstrate Bach’s desire to make use of the post-Reformation hymnbook in his liturgical works. Whereas the earlier cantatas had been based on the gospel of the day on which they were to be sung, Bach now began to concentrate on illuminating various familiar hymns – possibly in an attempt to involve the congregation more closely in the service.

This is the 24th volume of our cycle of Bach cantatas. It seems almost as though the recordings have an addictive quality for demand continues to increase! The present volume is in the best traditions of the series, featuring Cantata veterans Yukari Nonoshita, Robin Blaze, Gerd Türk, Peter Kooij and a wealth of striking music.

Some press voices:

"Une fois de plus, Suzuki et son ensemble prouvent leur compréhension de la musique de Bach, de sa rhétorique et de son sens, sans jamais négliger le plaisir de la mélodie." Le Monde de la musique July/August 2004

”Il serait vain de de détailler chaque numéro, l’écoute répétée confirmant l’excellence des cordes, l’adéquation parfaite des voix..” Diapason November 2004

"A magnificent disc. Soloists are superb, the chorus magnificently and lucidly blended and accompaniments, be they continuo or orchestral, are ever alive to the twists and turns of Bach's fertile imagination." Classical MusicWeb

"Das Bach-Collegium Japan ist ein Klangkörper, der aus hervorragenden, virtuosen Musikern besteht, die die Errungenschaften der ‘Early Music’-Bewegung mit der Muttermilch aufgesogen zu haben scheinen."
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.86
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Liebster Gott, wenn werd ich sterben, BWV 8 17:04
01 I. Chorus - Liebster Gott, wenn werd ich sterben?... 05:36 $ 1.18 USD
02 II. Aria (tenor) - Was willst du dich, mein Geist,
03:38 $ 0.76 USD
03 III. Recitativo accompagnato (alto) - Zwar fühlt mein
schwaches Herz...
00:55 $ 0.19 USD
04 IV. Aria (bass) - Doch weichet, ihr tollen, vergeblichen
04:40 $ 0.98 USD
05 V. Recitativo (soprano) - Behalte nur, o Welt, das Meine!... 01:02 $ 0.22 USD
06 VI. Choral - Herrscher über Tod und Leben... 01:13 $ 0.26 USD
  Allein zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 33 19:09
07 I. Chorus - Allein zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ... 04:19 $ 0.91 USD
08 II. Recitativo (bass) - Mein Gott und Richter... 01:01 $ 0.21 USD
09 III. Aria (alto) - Wie furchtsam wankten meine Schritte... 07:23 $ 1.55 USD
10 IV. Recitativo (tenor) - Mein Gott, verwirf mich nicht... 01:18 $ 0.27 USD
11 V. Aria (tenor, bass) - Gott, der du die Liebe heisst... 03:46 $ 0.79 USD
12 VI. Choral - Ehr sei Gott in dem höchsten Thron... 01:22 $ 0.29 USD
  Herr Jesu Christ, du höchstes Gut, BWV 113 24:13
13 I. Chorus - Herr Jesu Christ, du höchstes Gut... 04:17 $ 0.90 USD
14 II. Choral (alto) - Erbarm dich mein in solcher Last... 04:04 $ 0.85 USD
15 III. Aria (bass) - Fürwahr, wenn mir das kömmet ein... 03:32 $ 0.74 USD
16 IV. Recitativo (bass) - Jedoch dein heilsam Wort, das
02:05 $ 0.44 USD
17 V. Aria (tenor) - Jesus nimmt die Sünder an... 04:48 $ 1.01 USD
18 VI. Recitativo (tenor) - Der Heiland nimmt die Sünder an... 02:07 $ 0.44 USD
19 VII. Aria Duetto (soprano, alto) - Ach Herr, mein Gott,
vergib mirs doch...
02:24 $ 0.50 USD
20 VIII. Choral - Stärk’ mich mit deinem Freudengeist… 00:56 $ 0.20 USD
  Appendix: Cantata No.8, Liebster Gott, wenn werd ich
sterben, BWV 8 (second version)
21 I. Chorus - Liebster Gott, wenn werd ich sterben?... 05:35 $ 1.17 USD
  Album total 67:37
EnsembleBach Collegium Japan
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
TenorTurk (Türk), Gerd
AltoBlaze, Robin
BassKooij, Peter
SopranoNonoshita, Yukari

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News