Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.32 (BWV 111, 123, 124 and 125)

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1501 SACD
Release date2006-07-30
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time74:28

Gramophone: outstanding; Music Web International: outstanding.

‘Mit Fried und Freud’ is the title of the 32nd volume in the Cantata Cycle of Bach Collegium Japan and Masaaki Suzuki. Though taken from Cantata BWV 125, ‘In peace and joy’ actually serves as a motto for much of the music on this disc. The joy in loving Christ, and the peace experienced through this love – even when contemplating death – are recurring themes in all four of these cantatas, which were first performed in January and February, 1725 in the Thomaskirche in Leipzig. Masaaki Suzuki’s Cantata Cycle is by now firmly established and the reviews for the latest discs have been positively glowing: ‘consistently outstanding performances, musical beyond belief, and worthy of any collection’ was how the reviewer of MusicWeb International described Volume 28 (BIS-SACD-1451), while International Record Review’s critic found that Suzuki was again bringing off ‘a fine achievement, striking the right balance between deep contemplation and freshness of approach.’ Volume 29 (BIS-SACD-1461) was no less highly regarded. It was for instance termed a benchmark recording by the reviewer in BBC music Magazine, who went on to recommend ‘a textural clarity and a lightness of tread which makes more sense of Bach's often strongly chromatic music than any rival recording that I can recall.’ New to the team on the present disc is tenor Andreas Weller, who comes to the fore in the remarkable aria ‘Auch die harte Kreuzesreise’ from BWV 123, where he is joined by two oboe d’amore in depicting the sorrowful earthly path of those who follow Christ.

Please note: The music on this Hybrid Super Audio CD can be played back in Stereo (CD and SACD) as well as in 5.0 Surround sound (SACD).
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.31
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Was mein Gott will, das g’scheh allzeit, BWV111 16:40
01 I. [Chorus]. Was mein Gott will, das g’scheh allzeit… 04:30 $ 0.95 USD
02 II. Aria (Basso). Entsetze dich, mein Herze, nicht… 02:58 $ 0.62 USD
03 III. Recitativo (Alto). O Törichter! der sich von Gott
00:50 $ 0.18 USD
04 IV. Aria (Alto, Tenore). So geh ich mit beherzten
06:05 $ 1.28 USD
05 V. Recitativo (Soprano). Drum wenn der Tod zuletzt den
01:09 $ 0.24 USD
06 VI. Choral. Noch eins, Herr, will ich bitten dich… 01:08 $ 0.24 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Liebster Immanuel, Herzog der Frommen, BWV123 20:00
07 I. [Chorus]. Liebster Immanuel, Herzog der Frommen… 05:07 $ 1.07 USD
08 II. Recitativo (Alto). Die Himmelssüßigkeit, der
Auserwählten Lust…
00:48 $ 0.17 USD
09 III. Aria (Tenore). Auch die harte Kreuzesreise… 06:15 $ 1.31 USD
10 IV. Recitativo (Basso). Kein Höllenfeind kann mich
00:49 $ 0.17 USD
11 V. Aria (Basso).Laß, o Welt, mich aus Verachtung… 05:42 $ 1.20 USD
12 VI. Choral. Drum fahrt nur immer hin, ihr Eitelkeiten… 01:19 $ 0.28 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Meinen Jesum laß ich nicht, BWV124 13:06
13 I. [Chorus].Meinen Jesum laß ich nicht… 03:24 $ 0.71 USD
14 II. Recitativo (Tenore). Solange sich ein Tropfen Blut… 00:45 $ 0.16 USD
15 III. Aria (Tenore). Und wenn der harte Todesschlag… 03:26 $ 0.72 USD
16 IV. Recitativo (Basso). Doch ach!… 01:03 $ 0.22 USD
17 V. Aria Duetto (Soprano, Alto). Entziehe dich eilends, mein
Herze, der Welt…
03:41 $ 0.77 USD
18 VI. Choral. Jesum laß ich nicht von mir… 00:47 $ 0.16 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Mit Fried und Freud ich fahr dahin, BWV125 23:08
19 I. [Chorus]. Mit Fried und Freud ich fahr dahin… 05:55 $ 1.24 USD
20 II. Aria (Alto). Ich will auch mit gebrochnen Augen… 08:28 $ 1.78 USD
21 III. Recitativo (Basso). O Wunder, daß ein Herz… 02:04 $ 0.43 USD
22 IV. Aria Duetto (Tenore, Basso). Ein unbegreiflich Licht… 05:14 $ 1.10 USD
23 V. Recitativo (Alto). O unerschöpfter Schatz der Güte… 00:42 $ 0.15 USD
24 VI. Choral. Er ist das Heil und selig Licht… 00:45 $ 0.16 USD
  Album total 74:28
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
Choir & orchestraBach Collegium Japan
BassKooij, Peter
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin
TenorWeller, Andreas
SopranoNonoshita, Yukari

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News