Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.34 (BWV 1, 126, and 127)

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1551 SACD
Release date2007-01-25
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time59:51

Gramophone: outstanding; BBC Music Magazine: outstanding.

The label ‘a musical universe’ fits Bach’s church cantatas perfectly not only on account of their sheer numbers, but also because they – the restraints of the genre notwithstanding – contain an amazing variety of moods, timbres and styles. In 33 previous volumes comprising 114 cantatas Masaaki Suzuki and his Bach Collegium Japan have been guiding us through this universe, to the acclaim of both collectors and reviewers. In Classic FM Magazine, the reviewer wrote of Volume 29: ‘The sheer polish and technical accomplishment of the music-making immediately hold the ear, and are reinforced by subtle phrasing and a quality of listening among all concerned that allows Bach’s counterpoint to progress with lightness and jaw-dropping clarity. Suzuki’s ongoing cantata cycle gets better with each release.’ Volume 31 was greeted in a similarly rapturous manner by the reviewer on the web site MusicWeb International, who concluded: ‘This disc is a perfect introduction to this wonderfully rich repertoire, truly music’s greatest treasure trove.’ The three cantatas on Volume 34, the present disc, were first performed in February and March 1725, in the Thomaskirche in Leipzig, where Bach was employed. The first one, Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern, was composed for the Feast of the Annunciation, and celebrates the joyous news brought to Mary of the coming birth of Christ in a suitably jubilant manner. A particular feature is the unusual scoring – as well as a string orchestra there are two horns, two oboi da caccia (i.e. alto oboes) and two solo violins. BWV126 (Erhalt uns, Herr, bei deinem Wort) is in a rather more dramatic vein, with its exhortation to God to support mankind against the enemies of the faith. The recitative ‘Der Menschen Gunst und Macht’ for alto and tenor is particularly noteworthy: Bach has cast the entire movement in the form of a dialogue, creating a fusion of recitative, arioso and chorale that is without equal in its era. The disc ends on a more resigned note with BWV127, based on a hymn which is in fact a song of death, ending with a plea for the forgiveness of sins. The soprano aria ‘The soul will rest in Jesus’ hands’ combines a certainty of belief and a longing for death are combined in one of Bach’s most beautiful and individual cantata movements, and the simple four-part final chorale concludes with an exquisite sequence of harmonies that lends a dreamlike quality to the words ‘until we slumber blessedly’.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 12.20
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern, BWV1 22:09
01 1. [Chorus]. Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern… 08:19 $ 1.75 USD
02 2. Recitativo (Tenore). Du wahrer Gottes und Marien Sohn… 00:58 $ 0.20 USD
03 3. Aria (Soprano). Erfüllet, ihr himmlischen göttlichen
04:14 $ 0.89 USD
04 4. Recitativo (Basso). Ein ird’scher Glanz, ein leiblich
00:56 $ 0.20 USD
05 5. Aria (Tenore). Unser Mund und Ton der Saiten… 06:24 $ 1.34 USD
06 6. Choral. Wie bin ich doch so herzlich froh… 01:18 $ 0.27 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Erhalt uns, Herr, bei deinem Wort, BWV126 16:51
07 1. [Chorus]. Erhalt uns, Herr, bei deinem Wort… 02:44 $ 0.57 USD
08 2. Aria (Tenore). Sende deine Macht von oben… 04:44 $ 0.99 USD
09 3. Recitativo [& Choral] (Alto, Tenore). Der Menschen
01:56 $ 0.41 USD
10 4. Aria (Basso). Stürze zu Boden, schwülstige Stolze!… 04:50 $ 1.02 USD
11 5. Recitativo (Tenore). So wird dein Wort und Wahrheit
00:52 $ 0.18 USD
12 6. Choral. Verleih uns Frieden gnädiglich… 01:45 $ 0.37 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Herr Jesu Christ, wahr’ Mensch und Gott, BWV127 19:05
13 1. [Chorus]. Herr Jesu Christ, wahr’ Mensch und Gott… 05:20 $ 1.12 USD
14 2. Recitativo (Tenore). Wenn alles sich zur letzten Zeit
01:18 $ 0.27 USD
15 3. Aria (Soprano). Die Seele ruht in Jesu Händen… 07:48 $ 1.64 USD
16 4. Recitativo [& Aria] (Basso). Wenn einstens die Posaunen
03:51 $ 0.81 USD
17 5. Choral. Ach, Herr, vergib all unsre Schuld… 00:48 $ 0.17 USD
  Album total 59:51
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
Choir & orchestraBach Collegium Japan
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
TenorTurk (Türk), Gerd
SopranoSampson, Carolyn
BassKooij, Peter
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News