Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.35 (BWV 74, 87, 128 and 176)

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1571 SACD
Release date2007-04-30
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time70:47

The four cantatas on this disc were all first performed in Leipzig in 1725, during the month of May. Just a few weeks earlier, for reasons unknown, Bach had been forced to abandon his projected chorale cantata cycle, in which each cantata for an entire church year was to focus on the text of a well-known hymn, rather than the gospel reading for the relevant day. He now had recourse to the help of the Leipzig poetess Mariane von Ziegler (1695-1760), who apparently wrote the texts of these cantatas especially for the occasion. They – and the music itself – are meditations on biblical events such as the ascension of Christ and the outpouring of the Holy Spirit on Whit Sunday.

Recent instalments in the Bach Collegium Japan cantata cycle have received the same high praise as the entire series. The German web site Klassik Heute summed it up in its review of Volume 32 (BIS-SACD-1501): ‘Once more there is cause to extol the by now well-accustomed merits of Masaaki Suzuki’s complete cycle of Bach cantatas: a profound knowledge of style, a multifaceted art of phrasing, and perfectly-judged choices of tempo and musical character have been the distinguishing features of this series since its inception.’ The same disc caused, another German web site, to exclaim: ‘You don’t need to have volumes 1-31 – this disc can stand on its own as yet another completely successful Bach interpretation.’ The following volume (Volume 33, BIS-CD-1541) was made Disc of the Month in BBC Music Magazine, whose reviewer wrote: ‘Suzuki responds magnificently to the musical challenges, and his Bach Collegium to the staggering technical demands… The Bach Collegium chorus, just eight voices in addition to the soloists, contributes to the clarity of texture. Every contrapuntal line is distinctive – a tribute, too, to the sound engineering.’
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 14.43
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Auf Christi Himmelfahrt allein, BWV128 16:40
01 1. [Chorus]. Auf Christi Himmelfahrt allein… 04:40 $ 0.98 USD
02 2. Recitativo (Tenore). Ich bin bereit, komm, hole mich!… 00:40 $ 0.14 USD
03 3. Aria [& Recitativo] (Basso). Auf, auf, mit hellem
03:23 $ 0.71 USD
04 4. Aria (Alto, Tenore). Sein Allmacht zu ergründen… 06:57 $ 1.46 USD
05 5. Choral. Alsdenn so wirst du mich… 01:00 $ 0.21 USD
  Es ist ein trotsig und verzagt Ding, BWV 176 11:06
06 1. [Chorus]. Es ist ein trotzig und verzagt Ding… 02:26 $ 0.51 USD
07 2. Recitativo (Alto). Ich meine, recht verzagt… 00:47 $ 0.16 USD
08 3. Aria (Soprano). Dein sonst hell beliebter Schein… 02:55 $ 0.61 USD
09 4. Recitativo (Basso). So wundre dich, o Meister, nicht… 01:43 $ 0.36 USD
10 5. Aria (Alto). Ermuntert euch, furchtsam und schüchterne
02:09 $ 0.45 USD
11 6. Choral. Auf dass wir also allzugleich… 01:06 $ 0.23 USD
  Bisher habt ihr nichts gebeten in meinem Namen, BWV87 20:02
12 1. [Aria] (Basso). Bisher habt ihr nichts gebeten in meinem
01:50 $ 0.39 USD
13 2. Recitativo (Alto). O Wort, das Geist und Seel
00:36 $ 0.13 USD
14 3. Aria (Alto). Vergib, o Vater, unsre Schuld… 09:21 $ 1.96 USD
15 4. Recitativo (Tenore). Wenn unsre Schuld bis an den Himmel
00:52 $ 0.18 USD
16 5. [Aria] (Basso). In der Welt habt ihr Angst… 01:51 $ 0.39 USD
17 6. Aria (Tenore). Ich will leiden, ich will schweigen… 04:22 $ 0.92 USD
18 7. Choral. Muss ich sein betrübet?… 01:10 $ 0.25 USD
  Wer mich liebet, der wird mein Wort halten, BWV74 20:54
19 1. [Chorus]. Wer mich liebet… 03:10 $ 0.67 USD
20 2. Aria (Soprano). Komm, komm, mein Herze steht dir offen… 03:22 $ 0.71 USD
21 3. Recitativo (Alto). Die Wohnung ist bereit… 00:34 $ 0.12 USD
22 4.Aria (Basso). Ich gehe hin und komme wieder zu euch… 02:44 $ 0.57 USD
23 5. Aria (Tenore). Kommt, eilet, stimmet Sait und Lieder… 04:24 $ 0.92 USD
24 6. Recitativo (Basso). Es ist nichts Verdammliches an
00:28 $ 0.10 USD
25 7. Aria (Alto). Nichts kann mich erretten… 05:23 $ 1.13 USD
26 8. Choral. Kein Menschenkind hier auf der Erd… 00:49 $ 0.17 USD
  Album total 70:47
Choir & orchestraBach Collegium Japan
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
TenorSakurada, Makoto
BassKooij, Peter
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin
SopranoNonoshita, Yukari

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News